Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Closed Thread

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 08-17-2006, 10:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic

anybody here a marine biologist or something similar?

hey, like that title says...is there anyone here that is a marine biologist, or something similar? i'm interested in a career w/something to do w/fish, corals..you name it..

thanks
mike

Old 08-18-2006, 01:24 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Activist

Send a message via MSN to MattAquaBio
I'm majoring in it, but not quite yet my friend .

Old 08-18-2006, 02:03 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic

lol cool

what all do you need for classes and stuff for it? and what type of job are you gonna get once you're done w/classes?
Old 08-18-2006, 08:05 AM   #4
AA Team Emeritus

Send a message via Yahoo to Devilishturtles
Same here. Lol. I'm majoring in it (Bio/Marine Bio). As far as classes, lots of biology and lots of chemistry, along w/ your basic english, math, etc. Marine Bio involves know a lot of the chemical makeup of cells, science of the water itself. That means basic and organic chemistry, as well as regular and micro biology. In my opinion, its these first two years (which I've thankfully just finished) that are the hardest and then you get to the fun parts.

As far as future, I live in a heavily "governmented" area. My plan is to work for the government as a biologist or fisheries biologist. You can scope gov jobs in your area by going to usajobs.gov. I'm sure there are also a lot of private sector/research type jobs available.

HTH

Oh, maybe you can PM Newfound if she doesn't find this thread. She is an oceanographer I believe.

Live in the Western MD/West Virginia/DC Metro Area?
Join our very active regional forum Here