Big Chain Pet Store Employee, Venting

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

CPryor

Aquarium Advice Activist
Okay, soooo...I work in the small animal dept. at a chain pet store. I've had a betta for the past 4 years, and just started a 10 gal, so you KNOW i'm not an expert - but I DO know that "no, no sir.....you can not put this bala shark in a five gallon" and "no, you can not put this tiger oscar in with your gold fish" (and yes, these are things I have had to tell people).

I'm just INSANELY tired of people buying their children 3 gal. aquariums and wanting to keep 4 Glofish ("one of each color!"), and getting angry at me for telling them not to do it. Can we please start some sort of petition to those Glofish people to stop making anything smaller than a 10 gallon, when the fish they offer are danios and tetras???? I cant tell you how often I've had parents "sneak" in to buy a replacement fish, so their child can avoid the trauma of having to face the death of their pet :banghead:

My store has a 2 week return policy. One thing we DO have the power to do, is void the warrantee on our fish - it does help a little. When I know someone is HORRIBLY overstocking their ciclid tank, I can tell them "I'm sorry ma'am, but if you insist on 100 inches of fish in a 50 gallon, I'm going to have to revoke the warrantee", then I go to the register and instruct them to write VOID on their receipt. It often makes them rethink their choices....but it only really works when i have the time to do it (we are not busy), and the fish selection is SO in-your-face bad that it's worth the risk of them complaining to the manager....I know the manager wont back us up on all things.