Building a database

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

rsp

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hey folks

I'm new to the tropical fish world but I'm learning a lot on the forums here. You guys are awesome :)

One thing I'm trying to set up right now is a database for keeping tabs on water quality and other aquarium parameters. I haven't found much out there to do that, and I'm a web developer by day, so I'm actually going to make a site out of it.

Nothing fancy, just something really straightforward and simple.

Currently, for water quality, I'm tracking these parameters:
  • pH
  • Temp
  • Nitrite
  • Nitrate
  • Ammonia

What others would you like to see present in the list?

When I'm done creating the site I'll post it up and let anyone on aquariumadvice.com use it for free of course.

Thanks!

Rik.

D'oh, I forgot to mention I'm also tracking:

• Chlorine
  • KH
  • GH

Great idea!

I use an app on my Android that's called Freshwater Aquarium Log, but it's kinda funky. If anybody comes up with something better, I'd even pay for it (256 apps, all free) :D.

If you put other logging elements in it, something to track when you put in lights and remind you of their ages, and the ability to track multiple tanks, which I understand isn't available. I currently use a notebook...heh

Mr. Limpet said:
Great idea!

I use an app on my Android that's called Freshwater Aquarium Log, but it's kinda funky. If anybody comes up with something better, I'd even pay for it (256 apps, all free) :D.

Freshwater Aquarium Log?? Im gonna have to check it out, I have a droid phone also... Any other aquarium apps out there??