Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 03-08-2014, 10:25 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie

Business idea for an aquarium store

Hello everyone! My name is Nicole and I am a college student majoring in business. For the last 3 years I have had a 55 freshwater gallon tank and I absolutely love it. I would love to turn my hobby into a career and do something that I would love to do everyday.

My idea is to have an aquarium store that sells different species of fish both freshwater and salt water. I would also sell different tank setups and everything from the chemicals needed to the decorations in your tank. Aside from the actual store, I would offer services such as in home tank set ups, cleanings and water testings, so aquariums can be available to everyone's homes and not just hobbiests such as ourselves. I would have classes(for a fee) on different species of fish to help keep them alive and healthy and maintenance of the tank. I would also like to offer pond construction and maintenance.

I currently live in New York but after I finish up in my hometowns community college and earn a business degree, I wish to go to a four year school in Florida or California majoring in marine biology and minoring in business. I would open up my business in Florida or Cali depending on where I go to school.

I would love your feedback and comments on my business plans as you are my potential customers. If you would,
1. List three things that you liked about my product/services described in my statement.
2. Provide three suggestions for making the idea better.
3. Do you think my idea is realistic? Why or why not?
4. Would you, as my potential customer, buy my products and services? Why or why not?
5. If you would buy it, how much would you pay for it?