Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-30-2017, 05:20 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
philip0381's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 33
Carbon and water conditioner

Does carbon removes water contitioner from the water?
__________________

__________________
philip0381 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2017, 05:35 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
BBradbury's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 4,793
Chemical Medium

Quote:
Originally Posted by philip0381 View Post
Does carbon removes water contitioner from the water?
Hello phil...

Carbon is meant to remove pollutants from the tank water. But, it won't remove all of them. I doubt it would affect water conditioner that's specifically for aquarium use, because it doesn't contain anything toxic.

B
__________________

__________________
"Fear not, my young apprentice. Just change the tank water."
BBradbury is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2017, 08:06 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mebbid's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Michigan USA
Posts: 12,612
That's a very good question. I'm not exactly sure what the answer is as the science behind how activated carbon works is a little over my head and I don't particularly care enough to spend the 4 to 5 hours it would take to learn it

Why do you ask?
__________________
"The simplest explanation for some phenomenon is more likely to be accurate than more complicated explanations." -Occam's razor
Mebbid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2017, 08:14 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict


 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 2,270
I believe that the majority of quality water conditioners have an immediate chemical reaction upon contact with water, neutralizing chlorine, ammonia, and a variety of heavy metals. If you follow my method, simply dumping a little conditioner in a 5 gal bucket, filling with water, which mixes in the conditioner, then pour into the tank, you should have no problems.
I change about 50 gal. A week from my display tank alone. That translates to only one cap full
of water conditioner.
__________________
V227 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-30-2017, 11:40 PM   #5
AA Member
Community Moderator
 
Delapool's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Perth, Australia
Posts: 15,816
Very interesting question. I donít think so for the water conditioner but not so sure on other compounds that might be in something like seachem prime. Iíve never noticed anything though when using carbon or read anything on water conditioner labels. Will see what links I have.

I think the reaction is so quick as well.
__________________
Delapool is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 02:34 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,601
Hereís an old link I refer to from time to time.

https://www.ukaps.org/forum/threads/...80/#post-77856
__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 05:00 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
coralbandit's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Saratoga,NY
Posts: 6,894
IMO the conditioner works much faster then the carbon ever could so the carbon does not have time to effect the conditioner.
I use seachem Safe [dry version of Prime] and it removes [de activates chlorine ] in under 10 minutes ...Carbon [even the best] will not work that fast.
__________________
Mr.bandit is my YouTube
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcS...zPAhmB9QK0UvMA
http://www.aquabid.com/cgi-bin/aucti...er&Coralbandit
^^These are my weekly sales^^ GOT RAMS ???
coralbandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2017, 09:49 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
philip0381's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 33
Ok guys thank you all for your help i apriciate it
__________________

__________________
philip0381 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
ate, carbon, condition, water, water condition, water conditioner

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Carbon bag broke and now carbon is in my tank Potluck Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 2 12-09-2016 01:23 PM
Water conditioner and water change question Jessy2363 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 14 02-28-2015 05:13 PM
Brightwell Aquatics Black Water Conditioner for Fresh Water Aquaria AquaCave Vendor Spotlight (Deals, Announcements & More) 0 09-14-2010 07:50 PM
My water conditioner clouds my water thats_so_fab Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 7 01-18-2006 11:58 PM
Tap Water Conditioner or Distilled water blaster Saltwater Reef Aquaria 20 02-03-2004 11:00 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.