Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 08-21-2004, 07:46 PM   #1
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Computer Gurus, HELP!!!!!!!

Ok, I have my supervisors computer trying to get it running properly (I am not the best, but in this area I'm close to it), he had allowed his children to get a WHOLE lot of spyware, adware and a few nasty viruses. I got all that stuff off, updated his virus protection turned on his personal firewall (one of his boys had turned it off) updated windows, updated adaware and it shows clean now, after days of continous scans and some manual deletions. The problem is, Internet Explorer changes the home page everytime I get it on the internet. As soon as t accesses the internet, it changes the home page to netspry.com. When I first got it from him, it would then open a hundred pop up windows or so and finally crash, now it doesn't do that, but it changes the homepage. How can I fix it? I'm ready to be done with this nightmare, LOL.
__________________

__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 08:16 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
What program did you use for adware?

At work we combat adware with a tagteam of adaware and spybot.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 08:21 PM   #3
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
I just used adaware.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 08:23 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Atari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,468
I use spybot too.. it catches a lot of stuff adaware misses so it might be worth a try.

Also, did you try searching the registry?
__________________
My wife and I were happy for twenty years. Then we met.
- Rodney Dangerfield.


Click HERE to vote for Aquarium Advice!
Atari is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 08:25 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Toano, Virginia!
Posts: 716
I have adaware and spybot both on my home pc and I'll tell you this: They are a short term fix for annoyances, but in the end those will catch up and you will still be plagued with computer problems. Your best bet and the only sure way to fix it is to reformat the drive and reinstall everything. Other than that, all you can do is apply band-aid, short term fixes that dont solve 100 percent of your problems and in turn cause a few more of their own. Something to think about.
__________________
I almost dated a psychic.....


She left me before we met.
youronlysin is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 08:27 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Toano, Virginia!
Posts: 716
FYI, spybot can remedy your homepage Hi-jacking, but be aware that it is not 100 percent fool proof. There are some malicious softwares that just cant be stopped easily.
__________________
I almost dated a psychic.....


She left me before we met.
youronlysin is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 08:27 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Atari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,468
Nevermind.. see next post.
__________________
My wife and I were happy for twenty years. Then we met.
- Rodney Dangerfield.


Click HERE to vote for Aquarium Advice!
Atari is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 08:32 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Atari's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 2,468
Actually.. scratch that last one..

This page has instructions for manual removal from Netspry itself.. alternatively you could get PestPatrol which will remove it automatically.

http://www.pestpatrol.com/pestinfo/n/netspry.asp
__________________
My wife and I were happy for twenty years. Then we met.
- Rodney Dangerfield.


Click HERE to vote for Aquarium Advice!
Atari is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 08:33 PM   #9
AA Team Emeritus
 
reefrunner69's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Cedar Key, FL
Posts: 1,663
Thanks, yeah Atari, I just found that.
__________________
Kevin

Visit Nature Coast Photography
reefrunner69 is offline  
Old 08-21-2004, 09:04 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Florida, USA
Posts: 2,829
If his personal firewall is the windows XP built in, don't bother turning it on. It does nothing.


Other than that

Make sure no virus has installed itself and tampered with the antivirus [ Norton has safeguards against this, unsure about others ]

Run AdAware and Spybot Search and Destroy, not at the same time of course.

Also, run Spybots immunization, it prevents known adware from installing itself again.
__________________

__________________
30gal; Bala Shark, Pl*co
William is offline  
Closed Thread

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Calling all ich gurus again...... jhd Freshwater & Brackish - Unhealthy Fish 2 09-17-2004 04:13 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.