FISH diseases, and your ability to treat them

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

HOW GOOD are you when it comes to sick FISH (+ other living stuff in your tank)

• Total voters
I can count the number of diseases that have hit my tank on one hand. One bout of Hexamitosis, one bout of old food, lip disease on my Angel, and Ich maybe twice. Pretty common diseases, easily diagnosed.

I lose very little fish in my 13 tanks thank goodness. I had to learn the hard way and now although I am good at treating my fish I once was not.

Have not lost ANY fish to disease in my tank's present location. (10 yrs in August)

I still have some Neon Tetras (3) left from when I bought in 2001 - 7 yrs for a Neon!

Big thing is: pick your fish carefully - make sure there is no disease in lfs tank. Then Q them for at least 3 weeks before adding to main tank.

I'm an okay doctor. I usually call my local Petco or look it up in one of my books on aquariums.

Have not lost ANY fish to disease in my tank's present location. (10 yrs in August)

I still have some Neon Tetras (3) left from when I bought in 2001 - 7 yrs for a Neon!

Big thing is: pick your fish carefully - make sure there is no disease in lfs tank. Then Q them for at least 3 weeks before adding to main tank.

see ... trouble is that if you aren't a VERY GOOD doctor, you won't be able to identify the diseases anyway.

so even if you Q the fish for 4 weeks, they might survive 4 weeks and then you put them in your main tank, and spread disease and die 2 weeks later

so all in all, except ich some types of fungus and external parasites, i think some (most?) of us are not able to identify.
and even with ich, i've tried the heat treatment twice now, and except losing all fragile fish, i did not lose anything else (certainly not the ich)