Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-16-2005, 08:37 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Athens, TN.
Posts: 3,598
Quote:
I've set my router up over a secure connection requiring the installation of a pass key to log on (WPA Pre-Secured Key I think is what it's called) to prevent anonymous logons. I also log everything so I can pick up on that kind of stuff.

How do you set that up? I have gone wireless as well but don't know how to set that up, also how do I set up to use my printer?
Quote:
I can sit down here at the kitchen counter, with my fishies, and use the printer upstairs at the same time!

_________________
__________________

__________________
Gerald

Vote for AquariumAdvice
dralarms is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 08:47 AM   #12
Moderator Emeritus
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Franklin, TN
Posts: 3,968
My router has that security option in the wireless security tab, then basically you generate a pass key and install it on your laptop. I don't know how new a security idea this is, but my router just became available up here anyway and I hadn't seen it before.

I've yet to set up the printer, I'll probably work on that tonight.
__________________

__________________
Bearfan is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 08:55 AM   #13
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Tim, unless your doing substantal file sharing between PC's on your local network (ie between two or more PC's in your home), your not communicating at 100mbps anyway. All WAN communication (ie internet) is going to be limited to your internet access speed and that in the best case with cable modems is only gonig to be a few mbps like 1-5mbps depending on provider and overall network load.
__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 08:58 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Athens, TN.
Posts: 3,598
Quote:
My router has that security option in the wireless security tab, then basically you generate a pass key and install it on your laptop. I don't know how new a security idea this is, but my router just became available up here anyway and I hadn't seen it before.

Well that much was easy. Thanks
__________________
Gerald

Vote for AquariumAdvice
dralarms is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 09:11 AM   #15
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Athens, TN.
Posts: 3,598
Quote:
Quote:

My router has that security option in the wireless security tab, then basically you generate a pass key and install it on your laptop. I don't know how new a security idea this is, but my router just became available up here anyway and I hadn't seen it before.




Well that much was easy. Thanks
Or so I thought, Set up my desktop, got the key and went to my laptop and it connected right away with out the key?
__________________
Gerald

Vote for AquariumAdvice
dralarms is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 09:15 AM   #16
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 130
Send a message via MSN to formanbob
I upgraded all my core switches to a gig, my pc and added 3 ap, so I can do gig 100 or 54 , but i still like to fix pc's in the bathroom with wireless he he..
__________________
90g FW Planted Commune 2x65 PC’s 2x? NO's
58g SW FO + prop cage 2x96 PC’s 10k and Actinic
30g SW Reef 1x250 MH 10k 1x35? PC Actinic
5g FW Planted Dwarf Puffer 19w PC
formanbob is offline  
Old 06-16-2005, 12:39 PM   #17
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Its best to enable WAP encryption at the highest bit level possible. Set the SSID to be non broadcast aswell. The WAP encryption can be broken but the higher the bit level the longer it will take and by not enabling WAP your asking folks to use your internet for free. Remember if they are on your internet and they do something BAD the law will come after you not them. By disabling the SSID the access point will not advertise that its out there. A person might see there is a signal but they wont know the SSID to connect. This is also a good reaoson to change the SSID from the default to something unique and not something like your last name or anything easily identifiable by an unwelcomed war wagon parked on the curb.

The final bit of advice is to change the admin password on the access point from the default again to something unique and not so easily guessed. You think thats something that is fairly intuitive to do right away but many many people dont change it and basicly leave themselves open to have someone hack into the unit and change settings and hen change the password to lock them out of their own device.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline  
Closed Thread

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Pinpoint Wireless Thermometer bromion Archive 0 01-06-2006 05:30 AM
wireless thermometer experience? hubes1 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 12-08-2004 09:19 PM
Pin Point Wireless Thermometer. got bait? General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 2 09-22-2004 04:19 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:31 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.