How long after starting tank did u start thinking about another tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Beengirl

Aquarium Advice Addict
I'm pretty new at SW, but my tank is cycled, amm=0, Trites=0, trates=10, pH 8.0. I'm happy with that. I have an angelfish, cleaner shrimp(who just molted first time yesterday!!), bangaii card, green chromis, starry blenny. They seem happy. My sun coral has even eaten 2days in row. But I keep going to the fish stores (several) and "looking". I'm not even done with this tank and I'm already thinking about another tank I could do!! And I'm only 2 months into SW!! Lol

Is it just me? So how long did it take you to start thinking of next tank after starting one?

That is a interesting question. For myself I was given a 10g tank as a birthday present from my parents when I was 7, the next tank did not come until I was 20 and now 31 years since my very first 10g I have between 20-30 tanks running at any given time with anywhere from 800-1100g of water. The funny thing is my mom still apologizes to my wife for starting my 'addiction" as she calls it all those years ago.

Last edited:
HUKIT said:
That is a interesting question. For myself I was given a 10g tank as a birthday present from my parents when I was 7, the next tank did not come until I was 20 and now 31 years since my very first 10g I have between 20-30 tanks running at any given time with anywhere from 800-1100g of water. The funny thing is my mom still apologizes to my wife for starting my 'addiction" as she calls it all those years ago.

That's too funny lol. Everytime I finish scaping a new tank I'm ready for the next one :)

Well late last year I bought myself a little ten gallon. June this year bought myself a 30 gallon and then I've started planning for a 55g and a 30g.