Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
Old 02-20-2013, 02:33 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Newbie
LFS Owners? Pick Your Brain?

I hope I'm not imposing with these questions.

I've been breeding guppies for several years. I have 20 tanks and about 300 gallons of water. I have two nice lines going, one is straight from a top breeder, the other is one I was able to develop on my own. At this point I'm purely a hobbyist, limited knowledge, but I'd like to expand the hobby a bit. I'm thinking about starting to enter some shows, and build a website, or alternatively, set up distribution with some local fish stores. My question is whether there a LFS would be an appropriate place to sell guppies to the public for at least twice the price of the standard stock.

I've taken lots of fish into a couple local stores over the past few years, and they're always happy to see them coming. I trade out for some food or equipment. They always sell very quickly, and they tell me mine are a lot healthier than what they get from the suppliers. I'd like to put together a consignment program for the LFS where they provide tank space, and I keep them stocked with something akin to show quality guppies, I cover all replacements, they sell them and collect the funds and we settle up at the end of the month. I was thinking the LFS would get 1/3 for tank and overhead, 1/3 for profit, and I'd get the other 1/3. Here are my questions, if I haven't already bored you to death.

1. Would the general guppy-buying public see any greater value in a higher quality guppy than what is normally available from a supplier? I'd be glad to pay $10 or even $15 apiece instead of $5 for really nice gupps, but I'm a geek.

2. How many guppies a week does a LFS with moderate traffic sell?