Looking for network admins (corporate)

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.

flipz

Aquarium Advice FINatic
hey everyone. so im finishing up my network administration degree this quarter, and im in a class called "advanced networking topics."

for my final project, i have to pretend like i am a consultant company desigining a network from the ground up for a college. i have to figure everything from how much cable to run, to what software to run on the servers, how to link the campuses/buildings, and even what ports to open on the firewalls!!!

i have a lot of experience with home and very small business networks, but i have not actually done anything on a corporate level. i have taken all sorts of classes now, but i haven't actually had the experience to see it live.

i was wondering if anyone can link me to any websites or offer on help with my project.

here are the details:
Your consulting team has been awarded a contract to provide technical consulting services to a community college. [blah blah blah]. The college is now ready to "start from scratch" (we are assuming they have nothing to start with).

My projects details:
-Approximately 6000 students
-4 seperate campuses
-Campuses are 100 miles apart
-3 buildings per campus (all are 2 story buildings)
-3 computer labs per building (25 computers per lab)
-100 administrative PCs and 100 faculty PCs

i need to price out computers, routers, switches, servers, etc. and like i said, i need every detail from what brands/models to buy of all that stuff, all the way down to the dimensions of the server room!

so if anyone can provide me with any help/tips on magazines to look at, websites to look at, or anything of the sort... please help!! i have to create a whole report and give a 30 minute presentation.

thanks!!!

-flipz/brent

ask my brother