More horror stories from a LFS

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Talvari

Aquarium Advice FINatic
So very frustrated right now... For the first time in more than a year, I had a customer complain about me to my manager. Thankfully, my manager laughed it off because she knows me too well.

Back story: I work at a local fish store, and have been there for a year and a half. I have a tech degree in Animal Science. I've been keeping fish and working with animals all my life. I really enjoy my job, and really like teaching people about animals and I like being able to be a voice for fish, who are so often mistreated.

Anyways... Tonight I had a lady come in who wanted a fancy goldfish. Okay. How big of a tank, what other fish do you have etc.... She had a ten gallon tank. With goldfish. FOUR other FANCY goldfish to be exact.

I told her in no uncertain terms that her tank was way overstocked and that she would need to upgrade to a 50 gallon tank to keep the fish she had healthy and happy. I did at NO point REFUSE to sell her fish. She just shrugged her shoulders and wandered off...

Then went and told my manager that she needed to write me up because I refused to sell her a fish. UGH.

Anyways... I figure Id start this thread so that I could post my work experiences, and people could get a look at the other side of the story: how frustrating it is to work at a LFS.

I don't think I'd make any money owning an lfs lol
None of my locals ask any questions about your tank, tank mates, etc. when buying a fish because honestly they probably are sick of having the same discussions over and over again with people who just simply don't care.

Thats definitely part of it, cheeky monkey. Some of the regulars come in who just dont care so you dont bother telling them "hey, dont put those fish together" cause you know they wont listen.