Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 11-16-2011, 07:18 AM   #31
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
ronnieroach's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: the poor part of connecticut
Posts: 754
i did the same thing donk!! my old tattoo artist would give me prints of his art & they were perfect for 10gal backgrounds lol
__________________

__________________
~~~~~~~~~~~~~
POSITIVE VIBES!!
~~~~~ ~~~~~
Let's make A.A. the 'free love' fish forum!!
ronnieroach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 06:15 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Donkey Gun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161
Thats awesome! Wanna draw up a background for mine?!
LOL! Thank you! That took me a couple weeks to finish, and it's only a 29 gallon. I notice you have a 55... I may have to charge.

$1,000 for your own personal background! :p
__________________

__________________
Donkey's Tanks:
~~~10 Gallon Planted Jungle Thread ~~-~~ 55 Gallon Community Thread~~~

Donkey's Videos
Donkey Gun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 06:28 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Haha 1,000 hmmm... Lemme ask the wife.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-16-2011, 09:30 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
So... I GOT THE TANK!!!!!

Questions. Do I have to cycle the new tank? Can I add some tank water,gravel,decor,and 1 filter, let it run a few days then do another pwc add that water to new tank and so on and so on? What's the best way to do this so my fish are safe and not shocked?

I'm gonna remove everything and place it in the new tank with a few Cichlid stone caves. And my other heater I'm gonna put in the new tank to get the water to temp 78

Put in the air stone,plants etc...

Any suggestions and advice will be greatly appreciated.

Thanks!!
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 12:11 AM   #35
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Donkey Gun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 785
I'm no expert on here, but I was told to just use some of the filter media from my older tank. But then, you will need to stock ASAP because that BB needs ammonia to live off of. If you cannot stock right away, just throw in some food flakes.

I do know you want to start with fresh water

This is how I was told to start my 10 gallon. I cut a piece of the filter from my 29 and put it in with a new filter in the 10.

Granted, your on a much larger scale...
__________________
Donkey's Tanks:
~~~10 Gallon Planted Jungle Thread ~~-~~ 55 Gallon Community Thread~~~

Donkey's Videos
Donkey Gun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 12:11 AM   #36
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Donkey Gun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 785
Oh, and congrats on the new tank!!
__________________
Donkey's Tanks:
~~~10 Gallon Planted Jungle Thread ~~-~~ 55 Gallon Community Thread~~~

Donkey's Videos
Donkey Gun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 12:12 AM   #37
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Donkey Gun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 785
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161
Haha 1,000 hmmm... Lemme ask the wife.
It only appreciates over time...
__________________
Donkey's Tanks:
~~~10 Gallon Planted Jungle Thread ~~-~~ 55 Gallon Community Thread~~~

Donkey's Videos
Donkey Gun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 12:16 AM   #38
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Congrats on the new tank! If your upgrading just move everything across from the old to the new tank. Filter, gravel, decor, plants, fish, etc. And there will be no cycle (or a small mini cycle, look out for that). Don't forget pics when your done!
Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 12:25 AM   #39
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mumma.of.two
Congrats on the new tank! If your upgrading just move everything across from the old to the new tank. Filter, gravel, decor, plants, fish, etc. And there will be no cycle (or a small mini cycle, look out for that). Don't forget pics when your done!
I will absolutely have pics! And lots! probably a week or so away waiting for the stand. So just move everything over? Water and all? Can I do that and then add all my fish into the new tank all at once?I'm worried about stressing them.

And thanks I'm so pumped!! My 75 finally!! Now I'm done! I promised the wife this is it. And I think all my fish will be happy. I don't plan on adding anymore as I already have 25 in my 55 but there small so i think they'll be just fine!
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-17-2011, 12:52 AM   #40
Aquarium Advice Obsessed
 
Mumma.of.two's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Sunny Queensland, Australia
Posts: 11,132
Quote:
Originally Posted by Convict2161

I will absolutely have pics! And lots! probably a week or so away waiting for the stand. So just move everything over? Water and all? Can I do that and then add all my fish into the new tank all at once?I'm worried about stressing them.

And thanks I'm so pumped!! My 75 finally!! Now I'm done! I promised the wife this is it. And I think all my fish will be happy. I don't plan on adding anymore as I already have 25 in my 55 but there small so i think they'll be just fine!
Don't feed them the day before. Put them in a bucket or two or three. Move everything over and most of the water. Fill the rest of the tank up with dechlorinated water and turn you filters on. Acclimatize the fish and add them to the new tank. Leave the lights off for a day or two and test every day or two just to make sure your not mini cycling.
__________________

Mumma.of.two is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Check vaulve failed Kody Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 21 11-12-2011 07:56 PM
Reality check on tank prices Togliat General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 10-09-2011 06:39 PM
I need a check valve (I did a search) Chino1130 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 09-27-2011 12:46 AM
3/4" Check Valve on Return? mrbee2828 DIY Projects 3 09-15-2011 02:48 PM
seachem stability? or just check parameters brian7 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 2 07-23-2011 01:09 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 03:59 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.