Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 10-24-2008, 02:52 PM   #21
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ziggy953 View Post
Thanks...I'm doing a complete system scan right now and after that has finished I'll give that a try and see what happens.

I really do appreciate all the help!
NP anytime....
__________________

Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 03:41 PM   #22
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
SpeedEuphoria's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: BCM
Posts: 1,225
screen flashing, is prob "refresh rate", try changing it, then back to what you like.

Otherwise have no clue, sounds strange
__________________

__________________
10G,Planted- Endler's Livebearers+RCS, 55G,planted
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kurt_Nelson View Post
Understanding the basics will let you make informed decisions on what advice to follow, and what advice is just plain hooey!
SpeedEuphoria is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 03:43 PM   #23
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Thanks...I'll check that after this sweep is complete. These programs are removing all kinds of junk.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 03:44 PM   #24
AA Team Emeritus
 
roka64's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 13,860
Send a message via AIM to roka64 Send a message via Yahoo to roka64
Ziggy, can you back up you data? If I feel better tomorrow, I can head down there and see what I can do. I would definitely suggest trying to do a back up and then possibly a system restore (if you have the windows recovery disk). You might also want to check microsoft's website and see if they have something that can remove it.
__________________
Age is relative, you are only as old as you act....of course, this works in reverse....

Questions loved, heeded advice greatly appreciated!

Vote for AA
Good reading about:
Nitrogen Cycle
Fishless Cycling
Need more help?
Articles
Acronym List

--Scott
roka64 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 03:48 PM   #25
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
So far the programs that ccCapt and Tank have pointed me to have removed the mess. The computer is rebooting now so we will see if the monitor issue continues. Until about an hour ago I couldn't access my data to back it up. I was able to dump most of it on a second hard drive. I'm only concerned with my pictures. I don't do anything important on the computer so I not going to lose anything that I'll regret.

I appreciate the offer! I can't find my original disks for the infected machine.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 03:50 PM   #26
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Well...combofix may have done the trick. So far the monitor has not flashed but there are things still loading and combofix is doing something still.
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 04:01 PM   #27
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
Ok...the monitor is still blinking off and on every 10-15 seconds. I checked the refresh rate and it is set at 60hrtz. I'm not sure what the heck is causing it....I swear I'm going to get a Mac!
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 04:06 PM   #28
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
Lol...
Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 05:30 PM   #29
AA Team Emeritus
 
Ziggy953's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Owings Mills, Maryland
Posts: 9,101
The ironic thing about all this is it is messing with Internet Explorer. I don't use IE, I use firefox. I got tired of IE crapping out on me all the time. UGH! I don't want to be a PC anymore.....
Ziggy953 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2008, 05:57 PM   #30
AA Team Emeritus
 
Tank2379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago,IL
Posts: 2,890
Send a message via MSN to Tank2379 Send a message via Yahoo to Tank2379
HHHHMMMM, I will try to figure out your issue and see what we could do to fix it I am pretty sure it's probably one click away from being fixed.....
__________________

Tank2379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
help with computer :( rubysoho Aquaria Off-Topic 16 10-01-2005 09:56 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 08:06 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.