Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 12-14-2013, 01:31 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, Oh
Posts: 202
Sweet, hopefully I'll be doing a new cycle soon too.
__________________

__________________
What do you hear Starbuck?
Nothing but the rain sir.
sixtyfou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 02:07 AM   #32
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, Oh
Posts: 202
-Father, forgive me, for I have sinned.

I'm running many tanks, I have a fancy digital water tester, all the API kits, and some weird test devices I bought from stoners; yet I have no good data to share I'm a bad organizer, and there is no way I can bring this data together. I couldn't do my homework in school, and I'm no better now.

Sodbuster is the man.
__________________

__________________
What do you hear Starbuck?
Nothing but the rain sir.
sixtyfou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 04:10 AM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
threnjen's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,611
LOL! Well it doesn't always work out.

I am still cycling a bucket, but I apparently had some problems with the initial bucket? Ages and ages went by with no nitrites. I moved everything to a different bucket and had nitrites in 4 days. Not sure what went wrong with bucket #1.
Anyway I'm only a week or so into it since 12 days was wasted with nothing happening. So still no data.
__________________
threnjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 04:19 AM   #34
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, Oh
Posts: 202
I'm lazy, old school, and I have an endless supply of Danios. It's hard to care about the details. I can cycle a tank in two days. I want to do it for science, but I've yet to crack open that bottle of ammonia.
__________________
What do you hear Starbuck?
Nothing but the rain sir.
sixtyfou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 04:36 AM   #35
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
threnjen's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,611
I'm not even sure what I'm cycling the bucket for at this point. I could seed it, but I specifically wanted to see the cycle happen.
__________________
threnjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 04:49 AM   #36
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, Oh
Posts: 202
I've heard fishless cycling is all the rage. The internet tells me it can't be done any other way, but it looks like a pain in the butt.

I've lost 4 fish in the last 6 months. I'm almost certain none were cycling related. Most I think were due to my daughter spilling 50 or so beta pellets in the tank.
__________________
What do you hear Starbuck?
Nothing but the rain sir.
sixtyfou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 05:04 AM   #37
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
threnjen's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,611
I think it's so weird you think that! I think fish-in cycling sounds awful. Totally awful. Fishless is so easy and painless to me. How often do you have to do water changes?

To quote myself in a post on another forum giving an opinion about this:

"If you follow the method given on this forum, [fishless cycling] will take you much less time [than fish-in]. Less than a month. 3 weeks, tops.

Now, fish-IN cycling can take WEEKS. It takes MUCH longer than fishless cycling and you have to keep on top of your parameters the ENTIRE time. EVERY SINGLE TIME your ammonia or nitrIte are over .25, water change! And guess what, that's going to be about every day! So you get to do a water change eeeveeeery day. sound fun?

Not to mention, since your parameters have to stay in the safe zone the whole time, you can barely have any fish. Forget the 50 fish planned for your 90g (extreme example). I hope you like those 3 danios because that's all you're going to have for WEEKS.

I haven't done a true fish-in cycle on purpose, but for the last two weeks I have had a quarantine/hospital tank set up. For specific reasons I could not seed it from my main tank so it has no cycled filter. I have had to do a minimum of 1 water change a day on it, and the last few days I have to do 2 a day!! I can't even comprehend doing 2 water changes a day for WEEKS ON END. I'm annoyed enough at this, I would never do it on purpose!

I mean no offense or disrespect to anyone who prefers it, but I think deliberately doing a fish-in cycle sounds crazy. It's so much more work!"
__________________
threnjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 05:17 AM   #38
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Columbus, Oh
Posts: 202
No offence taken. I don't think we are talking about the same thing.

I can bring up a stable 20 gallon tank in 7 days. I have lots of seeding material. With seeding material it's all a cake walk. You don't even need to test.

I add the Danios to test the water. If they live I add more fish.
__________________
What do you hear Starbuck?
Nothing but the rain sir.
sixtyfou is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 05:38 AM   #39
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
threnjen's Avatar


 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 1,611
Oooh sure. You're right, not the same topic. I thought we were talking about bringing something to a cycle from scratch.

One of the reasons I'm stubbornly doing the fishless on this bucket, despite having seeding material, is I was taught to fishless cycle quite differently from this forum and I want to know if it really works. I mean the info I have and use is way, way way different from what they teach here.
I did a fishless cycle on my first (only) tank but I did get some gravel from my LFS partway through so it wasn't a "pure" enough cycle for my research purposes
__________________
threnjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-27-2013, 05:41 AM   #40
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Caliban07's Avatar


 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Manchester UK
Posts: 5,313
You should only ever have to do one fish in cycle. I fish in cycled my first tank then added extra media straight away for my other tanks and my quarantine.

If you do fish in cycling right there is no reason ammonia should reach 0.25ppm.
It's about choosing the right fish, the right amount of fish in the right size tank. Ammonia is really hard I get hold of here in the UK.

To me fishless cycling is much more stressful to the hobbyist. The amount of posts on here relating to stalled cycles and posts about giving up because nitrites won't come down is frightening. Far more water changes if you do a fishless cycle wrong.

I cycled my tank with 4 rasbora all I which are still alive and well.
__________________

__________________
Caliban07 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
test

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.