Post your test data

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Ding, ding, ding!

We're on the same page. I have no experience with fishless cycling. I have to admit I don't trust it. I'd like to run some numbers. I think a lot of what is out there is anecdotal.

To me fishless cycling is much more stressful to the hobbyist. The amount of posts on here relating to stalled cycles and posts about giving up because nitrites won't come down is frightening. Far more water changes if you do a fishless cycle wrong.

People are just impatient and/or confused re: the nitrites.
This is the only forum I am aware of that advocates water changes during a fishless cycle. I'm not convinced that the information about that is accurate and not simply a perpetuated myth. I don't know this for sure, though.

As an example. So I'm doing this fishless cycle on this bucket? It probably is at 20ppm ammonia right now. No joke. And my nitrites are going up, it is not stalled. I was taught the fishless cycle very differently and it doesn't hide from high ammonia or nitrite levels with water changes at all.

BUT my last cycle was "tainted" by the seed media from the LFS. It was a ways into it though, when I already had nitrites. So I CAN confirm that I got nitrites even with ridiculous ammonia levels. But as for nitrite->nitrate, my test results were tainted.

I think there is just a lot of misinformation.

Ding, ding, ding!

We're on the same page. I have no experience with fishless cycling. I have to admit I don't trust it. I'd like to run some numbers. I think a lot of what is out there is anecdotal.

Another reason I am running the fishless cycle on the bucket is I want to show that water changes aren't important and that ammonia and nitrites can be CRAZY HIGH