Post your test data

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
It is a theory, but I am not a scientist. Has anyone ever actually studied these bacteria properly hello scientists?

I saw an interview of Dr tims creator about his bottled bacteria. He basically stated that most bottled bacteria is the type that comes from waste treatment plants which is more suited to live in super high nutrient environments where ammonia and nitrite is off the charts rather than our low nutrient systems. This is apparently why a lot of people have issues using bottled bacteria.

It could also signal issues when hyper saturating your water with ammonia allowing the other kind to grow.

I saw an interview of Dr tims creator about his bottled bacteria. He basically stated that most bottled bacteria is the type that comes from waste treatment plants which is more suited to live in super high nutrient environments where ammonia and nitrite is off the charts rather than our low nutrient systems. This is apparently why a lot of people have issues using bottled bacteria.

It could also signal issues when hyper saturating your water with ammonia allowing the other kind to grow.

Yes I have heard about this too. I was taking about regularly aquarium bacteria though. How do we not know there characteristics inside out. Or is it just that we are not important to scientists lol

But I challenge you - so what? What's the big deal if there are massive nitrites?
The forum where I learned fishless cycling doesn't make a big deal about off-the-chart ammonia OR nitrites the way this forum does. The ammonia in my bucket is currently about 20ppm and the cycle is moving.

Wow that's amazing, highest I'd heard of is 10ppm. I'd be really interested if you have ph and kH readings for this?

Today's test results:

pH 7.2
NitrItes still off the charts (this will be the case for a while now)