Share Your Mistakes Here

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Apparently changing my filters! I am just learning this is a no-no.

Biggest mistake I ever made

It's starts with a trip to Walmart yes walmart why do they sell fish I don't know it should be a crime.
My gf at the time wanted some cute little baby oscars so we vary intelligently listen to the employees advice to buy a 10g for out now 2 oscars he said they would be fine. I put them in after 1 hour of starting my cycle because I didn't know anything about cycles I was smart enough to buy prime but that's it.
Somehow my poor little oscars survived my idiot self and they where growing so I visited my petsmart were a slightly brighter employee than the Walmart one advised me I needed at least a 55g for my two oscars and suggested I get a common placo because I needed a "cleaner"
The only good advice she did give me was give me directions to a LFS
Here I got better advice no id say it was good. I still remember the owners name his name was john Hollywood lol
Anyway he advised me I needed at least a 125g because all my fish where going to get bigger mind you they where about 8inches by now.
I found a 180g on Craig's list for 250 with stand a swamp filter john said to save at least half the water and start up he tank right away.

Mistake # 1 I went only with my gf to pick up the tank it was easily 250 + pounds empty weight.

Mistake # 2 i didn't but enough water containers I bought 2 rubber maid 17g plastic storage boxes

Mistake #3 I didn't bother or make any plans for the inhabitants of the 180g tank it was a mbuna tank with about 50 Africans with fry and all

Mistake #4 I went to pick up the tank late it was maybe around 8pm