Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 05-18-2019, 08:53 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 56
So I just bought Bacteria

It said to use one cap for 10 u.s gal I have a 100 gallon does that mean I need to use 10 caps

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3357.jpg
Views:	76
Size:	184.8 KB
ID:	312947
__________________

__________________
Kingfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 08:54 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kingfish View Post
It said to use one cap for 10 u.s gal I have a 100 gallon does that mean I need to use 10 caps

Attachment 312947


Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_3357.jpg
Views:	53
Size:	247.2 KB
ID:	312948

I want to make sure Iím doing this right
__________________

__________________
Kingfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 09:00 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 56
My fish was in the tank for a month and a half . They were swimming weird so my fish guy give me this
__________________
Kingfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 10:57 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,021
Never buy marked down bacteria products
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 10:59 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 56
My fish guy been in business for over 27 yrs
__________________
Kingfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-18-2019, 11:22 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,021
Makes sense. Change water.. its free
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 12:59 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Autumnsky's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: Northern Colorado, USA
Posts: 12,777
Yes, one cap full for each 10 gallons / 10 caps full. Probably you have rocks and substrate so it could be somewhat less water volume, probably will not be an issue though.

If you have a test kit, monitor the water to make sure it doesn't cause an ammonia spike.

You need to know what the ammonia, the nitrIte and nitrate is frequently is there are issues, daily and maybe even 2x a day until any issues are resolved.
__________________

New to FW fish? First tank in a long time or EVER??? Need some info on keeping fish?
Start here - Aquarium Advice Article
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/guide...ater-aquarium/

Community Rules
https://www.aquariumadvice.com/forum...ork&page=rules

FW & SW
Favorite tank right now -5G Spec V Snails & Betta
Autumnsky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 10:09 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: mississippi
Posts: 744
If your tank has been setup and with fish in for a month and a half I don't see why you need bacteria. The tank should be cycled or at least building up a natural bacteria colony. I don't use bacteria in a bottle and find it to usually just be a way to throw money away. How much time someone has been in the hobby doesn't truly show how much they have learned or know. If your LFS guy didn't ask for a water sample to test if you already have a bacteria colony then I would be a bit reluctant to to listen to his advice. Just for example, my aunt has had a tank since I was a kid(20 years or more) and she didn't even know about the nitrogen cycle.
__________________
goatnad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 10:58 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Brookster123's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Mass
Posts: 19,021
If the tank is overstocked and the maintenance is not kept up than there is nothing you can add to remedy the situation. You need to do massive water changes. That arrowana will thank you.
__________________
I'm not really here... fell in the tank and my phone is just that smart
Brookster123 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2019, 12:37 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Posts: 56
Quote:
Originally Posted by goatnad View Post
If your tank has been setup and with fish in for a month and a half I don't see why you need bacteria. The tank should be cycled or at least building up a natural bacteria colony. I don't use bacteria in a bottle and find it to usually just be a way to throw money away. How much time someone has been in the hobby doesn't truly show how much they have learned or know. If your LFS guy didn't ask for a water sample to test if you already have a bacteria colony then I would be a bit reluctant to to listen to his advice. Just for example, my aunt has had a tank since I was a kid(20 years or more) and she didn't even know about the nitrogen cycle.


My arowana was swimming funny so I test the water and the ph was 7 and the 3 others was 0
__________________

__________________
Kingfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
bacteria

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bacteria Supplement and Live Bacteria Substitue Eatfood Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 05-29-2015 02:53 AM
how long do motors for filters last? I just bought an aqua tech filter and I was just Humanis1993 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 14 04-26-2011 12:52 PM
Please Help I Just Bought Two Clown Fish And The Just Stay At The Top Of The Tank CaptainNewbie Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 03-21-2010 07:17 PM
Bought used filter with bacteria in it jinchi Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 14 10-11-2009 04:20 PM
Just bought a 10G tank peter121612 Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 6 07-03-2003 07:38 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:45 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.