Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-24-2005, 10:46 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
Spyware......It won't go away

For the past several months my Norton Anti-Virus has been popping up a file every morning. I have the program set to scan every day at 4:00 AM. It keeps bringing back a file called reg.dat Threat Name Adware.Look2Me. How can I get rid of this? I try to delete it but the Norton program always says Delete Failed.
__________________

__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 10:48 AM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Virginia
Posts: 2,256
Send a message via ICQ to fishfreek Send a message via AIM to fishfreek Send a message via MSN to fishfreek Send a message via Yahoo to fishfreek
Locate the file. Boot into safe mode or boot into commandline mode. Navigte to the file and delete it. If that does not work in safe mode right click the file and see if it has some form of write protection enabled. If it does disable it and remove the file.

If you want to be tripple safe the file is not used for something else rename the file to something like reg.dat.bad and boot the PC. If everything operates normal for a period of time then remove it.
__________________

__________________
Remember dont tap the glass, your fish will think you're an idiot -Anonymous mother

Check out our articles area. 30+ Aquatic articles for your enjoyment
Are you in or around the Shenandoah Valley area? If so click here to join our regional forum.
fishfreek is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 10:51 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
ok, you lost me at Locate the file. I don't know anything about the technical parts of a pc. I can setup a computer and navigate around within windows without problems. But when you say Boot into safe mode or commandline mode.......no clue what you are talking about.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 08:08 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 493
Download Spybot Search and Destroy and Ad-Aware. Install them and then run them. Then run them in safe mode. To boot into safe mode tap F2 or DEL and then it should say something like boot normal, safe mode, and some other things. Just select safe mode and then run the programs. After you run the programs restart your computer like you normally do. HTH.
__________________
10g - 3 Feeders, 1 Bolivian Ram, 1 Bluegill?
40 Breeder - Eastern Painted
50g Rubbermaid - Mississippi Map
I work at an LFS..
Todd2 is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 08:22 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
I have Ad-Aware. It didn't pick it up. I'll try downloading the Spybot Search and Destroy. Thanks.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 08:40 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Greencastle, PA
Posts: 2,649
Send a message via Yahoo to shawmutt
Safe mode is run by pressing F8 on startup.

Download Adaware

Install it on your system, but do not run it. Restart your computer. When the computer turns off and starts to reboot (all the messages on a black screen) press and hold F8. Options will appear on your screen, you want to highlight "safe mode with networking" and press [ENTER]. Your system will then boot to windows under safe mode. It may pop up a window saying "windows is running in safe mode, etc. etc." just click Yes.

Open up adaware and click on "check for updates now." Click "connect" and then "OK" when the window pops up. Click "finish" when the update completes. Click "start" and make sure "perform full system scan" is ticked. Click next. It will go through your computer and find all spyware--it may take a few minutes. Once the scan is complete, right click anywhere on the checklist given and click "select all" and then click "next". Restart your computer and you should be good.

Step 2. Download Firefox. It's much better against spyware and with the IE skin you won't even know the difference.

Step 3. For the love of God get rid of Norton. That program is right up there with AOhell. That program has my ire since it gave me a huge virus problem that took me hours to fix. The only way I fixed it was uninstalling the crap, and it did not get reinstalled. Try AVG Free.

LOL I keep on adding steps.

Step 4. Go to Microsoft's website and make sure all your critical updates are done--even if you have automatic updates.
__________________
~Mike Shaw
Shawmutt.com. Blogs and Pictures of the Massively Multiplayer Offline game, Real Life.
shawmutt is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 09:21 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishyfanatic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 11,964
I've tried Firefox before and wasn't impressed. It caused more problems than anything with not opening pages and causing errors. I'm going to keep Norton, never had a problem with it. I got a virus several years ago with McAfee, but never have with Norton. Plus, I have it paid for until September of 2006.

I have all critical updates, just did that yesterday.

Ad-Aware has been installed on my computer since I first got it last September. Am I supposed to uninstall then re-install? I'll try downloading the other program now and starting it up in Safe Mode and running.
__________________
Vote for Aquarium Advice

29 Gallon Lake Malawi Fry
55 Gallon Community
150 Gallon Lake Malawi Cichlid
Fishyfanatic is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 09:28 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Greencastle, PA
Posts: 2,649
Send a message via Yahoo to shawmutt
If it's already installed, just follow the rest of the steps.
__________________
~Mike Shaw
Shawmutt.com. Blogs and Pictures of the Massively Multiplayer Offline game, Real Life.
shawmutt is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 09:49 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Kaneohe, HI
Posts: 526
Send a message via AIM to Felf
spyware doctor is better than spybot. the free version doesnt have many options but it gets the job done. idk if it matters but mcafee uses a lot less resources than norton so consider it in the future.
Felf is offline  
Old 09-24-2005, 09:55 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Alabama
Posts: 10
run your antivirus scan in safe mode also helps
__________________

__________________
PaulPaul is offline  
Closed Thread

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
spyware removal? krap101 Aquaria Off-Topic 19 06-22-2005 06:19 PM
Spyware reefrunner69 Aquaria Off-Topic 29 02-07-2005 01:17 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 07:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.