Tank themes discussion

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Sublimer

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hi all, I'm still a rookie around these parts but I wanted to start a thread concerning aquarium themes, where we can collectively share creative ideas and suggestions, as well as what we already have set up.

ForumRunner_20130311_162037.jpg
This is my 20 gallon tank. Nothing really in there at this point because I've been struggling to find a consistent theme I want to go with. Any ideas?

Feel free to post your themes for inspiration!

Oh, my husband and I are in the some predicament! We started our 46 gallon tank with a Roman coliseum and tall rock, exchanged that for a tall coral reef and just have that with some plants for now. We are looking to do an Atlantis theme although I think a Chinese theme would be cool. We have seen some Dragons and Pagodas that are interesting.

We have also seen cool aquarium settings with just cichlid stones and rocks with plants which seems more modern!

I think you'll find most folks who have stuck with the hobby for any considerable length of time eschew themed tanks for natural looking settings... unless you include a specific biotope as a them.

Do you know what flora/fauna you want to keep? I am sure some members here can post up some example tanks that might fit your eye... though like I said most folks shun the treasure chest and skull ornaments after their aquarium habit... er... hobby... evolves.

I've seen my fair share of natural settings lol it looks really nice but I don't want to go that route because it would seem too easy. Unfortunately I'm already limited by the rock I've placed in there as to what I can and cannot do but I was thinking perhaps something like a boomtown from the gold rush era would be cool.

LOL. I know a lot of folks who would consider "Natural" and "Easy" as oxymorons. :)