The Discus Thesis Progress Thread

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

sinibotia

Aquarium Advice Addict
As some of you may have heard (because I mention it constantly), I'm doing a thesis project on Discus! Specifically, as an Honors student at my university I'm required to complete some kind of thesis project related to my major in conjunction with a faculty advisor. My major is marine science/aquaculture, and one of my good friends at the university (a professor who teaches Biology of Fishes and Biology of Sharks among other classes) happens to be an avid freshwater aquarist like me, so I approached him about doing a project on discus. We chose discus because they are quite poorly studied due to their expense and relative difficulty of care, yet they are an important and growing part of tropical aquarium aquaculture. With both of our backgrounds in freshwater fishkeeping, we felt it was a challenge we could take on in order to break some interesting new ground with these fish.

The broad focus of the project is examining immunological aspects of discus mucus. There are quite a few reasons for doing this. Fish mucus in general is an important aspect of fish's immune health- the mucus itself is a barrier to pathogens, and also contains various innate and adaptive immune factors that are secreted into it by the fish. We are still discovering all kinds of new ways that fish mucus stops pathogens. In discus, the mucus is also used as a food for fry, which makes them a particularly interesting object of study, since very few other fish do this. Also, discus are both expensive and awesome, so studying their mucus (as opposed to studying, say, their blood or tissues) allows us to get samples without killing the fish. This means we can get a lot of data from a small number of fish.