Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-15-2005, 01:16 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 711
Time to hook up a router...

Alright, got the Radeon 9600 working fine. I don't notice any difference to tell you the truth except my wife's Zoo Tycoon game works now.

Anyway, I want to start using a router as a firewall. Any brand names or suggestions. Someone said I could get one for $20 now.
__________________

__________________
We'll be fighting in the streets with our children at our feet, and the morals that they worshipped will be gone.

And the men who spurred us on sit in judgment of all wrong, they decide and the shotgun sings the song.



125 SW
80 lb LR
330w PC
Euphyllia, Alveopora, Pachyclauvularia (Metallic Green and Daisy), Frogspawn, Torch, Gold Nepthea, Kenya Tree, Galaxea, Pulsing Xenia, various leather (umbrella, toadstool, fingers, devil fingers, lettuce)
Maroon Clown/White tip LT anemone, Powder Blue Tang, Female Swallow Angel, SixLine Wrasse, Solar Fairy Wrasse, Firefish, Fathead Anthias, Blue Mandarin, 3 Chromis, 3 Green Gobies
Clown Monarch is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 03:27 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
Jchillin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: New York, NY (The Big Apple)
Posts: 14,953
How about Linksys? Probably the most popular one on the market. I've attached a link to a store local to me but you can find them everywhere.

http://www.jr.com/JRProductPage.process?Product=3669104
__________________

__________________
_________________________________
Jchillin is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 03:33 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Raleigh NC
Posts: 874
Send a message via AIM to flipz
A router made for personal use isn't really the best thing to use as a firewall. You can block certain ports, but it won't prevent some adware program from calling home. But maybe you don't need that.

If you are buying one specifically to use as a firewall, don't waste your money (IMO) and just use a firewall program (even a free one like zonealarm works great). If you need a router anyways, Linksys and Netgear are both great brands. You won't find one for $20, however it won't die after 6 months either. Both can be found at Best Buy, or even cheaper online (newegg.com)

-brent
__________________
Come join the Ohio forum on AA!
flipz is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 04:05 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 1,728
Send a message via Yahoo to deli_conker
Quote:
If you are buying one specifically to use as a firewall, don't waste your money (IMO) and just use a firewall program (even a free one like zonealarm works great). If you need a router anyways, Linksys and Netgear are both great brands. You won't find one for $20, however it won't die after 6 months either.
I second that. If you are only using one computer, then skip the router; it's unecessary.

Zonealarm can be found here.
__________________
deli_conker is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 04:09 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 711
Zonealarm eh? Excellent. Thanks for the link, too.

I have the Windows service pack firewall, but was told it's not very good.
__________________
We'll be fighting in the streets with our children at our feet, and the morals that they worshipped will be gone.

And the men who spurred us on sit in judgment of all wrong, they decide and the shotgun sings the song.



125 SW
80 lb LR
330w PC
Euphyllia, Alveopora, Pachyclauvularia (Metallic Green and Daisy), Frogspawn, Torch, Gold Nepthea, Kenya Tree, Galaxea, Pulsing Xenia, various leather (umbrella, toadstool, fingers, devil fingers, lettuce)
Maroon Clown/White tip LT anemone, Powder Blue Tang, Female Swallow Angel, SixLine Wrasse, Solar Fairy Wrasse, Firefish, Fathead Anthias, Blue Mandarin, 3 Chromis, 3 Green Gobies
Clown Monarch is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 04:42 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Titusville FL
Posts: 89
One bennefit of a router is that mostly all brands do Network address translation. This along with a software Fiirewall would be Ideal. For spyware Microsoft spyware Beta is doing a great job at battling spyware and the best part is that it is free.
__________________
MikeyB is offline  
Old 03-15-2005, 04:49 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
greenfish's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Livermore, California USA
Posts: 631
Here is a good link for software firewalls:
http://www.majorgeeks.com/downloads34.html
__________________

greenfish is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 11:27 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Central Ohio
Posts: 1,728
Send a message via Yahoo to deli_conker
Quote:
For spyware Microsoft spyware Beta is doing a great job at battling spyware and the best part is that it is free.
Considering that the OS affected is their own product, I would hope it does well. Any ideas on when they plan to charge for it?

Network Address Translation is still only a rudimentary form of protection. If telnet is enabled on the WAN port, you can logon and brute force the password. After that you just have to enable port forwarding for whatever you're using and you're on somebody's LAN.
__________________
deli_conker is offline  
Old 03-16-2005, 01:04 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Titusville FL
Posts: 89
I dont know what there plans are for it. But here is a link.
http://www.microsoft.com/athome/secu...e/default.mspx
I have it installed on my windows box.
__________________

__________________
MikeyB is offline  
Closed Thread

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
My uncle is going to hook me up! HoCkEyGmC Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 5 08-31-2008 09:55 PM
RO/DI unit hook up KurtsReef General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 3 05-18-2007 09:10 PM
hook me up with a EI recipe? MyCatsDrool Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 4 01-12-2007 11:52 PM
RO Unit hook up ellisz Saltwater Reef Aquaria 11 03-22-2004 07:32 PM
Cannot figure out how to hook up my Barracuda RO unit? jamal-188 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 13 01-08-2004 11:24 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 11:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.