Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Old 01-17-2013, 05:13 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice

Two of my goldfishes have cloudy eyes. I need help!!!

Hello. I am new in Fish keeping so I need your advice.

On december I bought a 10 gallons tank and I put 3 Goldfish there. I was able to control everything in my water very good but I read I should put them in a bigger tank what I did. My ammonia, nitrite, and nitrate leves where 0 and fishes were in good shape in my old tank. In order to get a bigger tank, I bought a 36 gallons and I treated with safestart from Tetra and prime. I set it last monday (01/14/2013) What I did was I clean everything with hot water before I put everything in my tank, I put water in when everything was set. I ran my filter, I put prime, and aquarium salt (7 soup spoons according to the label). After 24 hours I put safestart and after 24 hour more I put my fishes in and small quantity of prime. I feed them 24 hours after they were introduced to my aquarium and I put little more prime ( I follow this from wiki aquarium "cycling your tank") I use api kit in order to measure ammonia, ph, nitrite, and nitrate levels. During these three days my readings are: Ammonia 0, Nitrite 0, Nitrate 0 and Ph 7.5. Temperature is 73 F. Yesterday my water became a little claudy and today it keeps claudy and my fishes, two of them, begin to have claudy eyes. I do not want to treat with medicine because the cicle has just started, and do not want change my water for the same reason. I know there is a problem with the water and I do not think is bacteria. I made this asumption because I wash everything with hot water before I started the cicle even my tank itself. Can someone help me in order to save my fishes? Thanks!!!

Old 01-18-2013, 08:49 PM   #2