Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 04-12-2009, 04:51 PM   #31
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: black hills, south dakota
Posts: 2,373
Send a message via AIM to black hills tj Send a message via MSN to black hills tj Send a message via Yahoo to black hills tj
Azoo Sponge Filters

Hagen Aquaclear HOB Filters

Rena XP Filstar Canister Filters
__________________

__________________
<.^.>Mike<.^.>

http://www.bhtj.net
black hills tj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-12-2009, 10:22 PM   #32
Aquarium Advice Regular
 
djrusselljoseph's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 88
Quote:
Originally Posted by SDMac74 View Post
AquaClear? MMMM. Has anyone used them on a large tank?? My Emporers make a lot of surface current which is killing my CO2. I have a 60 gallon tank, would 2 of the biggest AQ's be too much?? I think they are the AQ500's?? With SA Cichlids I need GOOD filtration, but want to slow the current down a little. The AQ filters are CHEAP, so I am willing to give them a shot, but my AQ20 on my little hex tank is fussy and clogs up fast. Are the big ones more durable?

I have owned AQ500s, they are no different. They clog eventually. Don't get me wrong, they are extremely effective, I would be hesitant putting 2 on a large tank. I had one on my old 66g and I remember coming home to find the water level rising slowly. I was like....errrr....time for a cannister. Went to a H.O.T. Magnum. Great filter, too many issues.
In my opinion, 2 AQ500 would not cause too much water agitation as long as the water level in your tank is kept up, they are very smooth running and don't really cause too huge of a ripple effect on the water.
__________________

__________________
75G FW has been taken apart.
Just doing some reading for now to prepare the tank for a salt setup!
Can't wait!
djrusselljoseph is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2009, 06:11 PM   #33
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
InfernoST's Avatar


 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: New York
Posts: 1,866
Eheim canisters all the way, 2215 & 2080.
__________________
Keith
120 Mixed Reef
InfernoST is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-10-2009, 08:55 PM   #34
Aquarium Advice FINatic
 
jessicasmarine's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: MCRD PI, SC
Posts: 660
Sealife systems wet/dry
PennPlax Canister
__________________
-Zack
I blame Craig AND his stupid List.
jessicasmarine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 12:06 PM   #35
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 46
I have an AquaClear150(30) It filters aquariums 20-30 gallons and filters at 150 gph. We've had this filter from a few years back and it still works really good. (I've now decided to set up the 20 gallon that has been sitting in our basement for 6 years) Will my filter be strong enough for 1 fantail goldfish?
__________________
goldfishlover101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-11-2009, 12:57 PM   #36
Great white snark
 
DragonFish71's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Longmont, Colorado
Posts: 6,563
On our 40 we have a fluval 305. In our 20L, 29, 55 and 14hex tanks we have Aqua Tech power filters and under gravel filters, all but the 20L have power head (s). In our 10 we have an Aqua Tech power filter and 1 Penn Plax Small World filter. In our 5.5 we have 2 Penn Plax Small World filters.

(Eventually on the 55 I'm getting a Fluval 405)
__________________
Jamie.... "The fingers of natural selection are hovering over the delete button."
AA community rules: http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums...ork&page=rules

AA ToS
http://www.aquariumadvice.com/forums/misc.php?do=sknetwork&page=tos
DragonFish71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2009, 04:24 PM   #37
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
fished's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: pa
Posts: 30
i don't have any huge sized tanks or anything just a couple 55 gallon but i like to use the aqua-tec filters.
__________________
fished is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2009, 04:13 AM   #38
is back to save the day!
 
Zer0's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 3,194
I use a TopFin 60. Its nothing special, but sure as the sun rises.. it gets the job done.
__________________
Thanks.
-Kevin
Zer0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 01:43 AM   #39
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
mcgrady7761's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 131
emperor 400 and emperor 330
__________________
mcgrady7761 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2009, 01:47 AM   #40
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
severum mama's Avatar


 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: GA
Posts: 10,297
8 gallon: JBJ nano 180 built in filtration
20 gallon QT: Aquaclear 30
75 gallon: Aquaclear 110 and Rena XP2
120 gallon: 2 Rena XP3's
50 reef: 20L sump
__________________

severum mama is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
filter

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Which brand of top hangon filter is good? gu2high Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 17 11-23-2006 02:38 PM
are Wet/dry filter & Mini-Reef Filter the same thing?? Bubble_B0y Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 1 08-26-2005 04:02 PM
brand new wet/dry filter Mercury64 Archive 2 12-27-2004 05:29 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 09:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.