What does it take to be a moderator?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Samzter

Aquarium Advice Addict
Hi people, I was asking this question generally because I was wondering what you have to do to become a moderator? Do you have to pay? What do you have to do? Do you have to love in America ? Please can a moderator help me or anyone who knows please reply. Thank you.

Im pretty sure other mods choose them and I think its free.

From my understanding you have to know the rules, be knowedgable, and be on AA alot to make sure others are following the rules

There is no real requirements to become a mod. I was chosen a while back because I was a regular on here and obeyed the rules. I'm not an expert on any topic really, just basic general knowledge about fish keeping.

If you want to become a mod, play nice and just keep spreading the knowledge around. You'll be noticed.

You don't have to pay to become one. On the other side, you don't get paid to be one either. ;)

Edit: May I ask why you want to be a mod? It isn't as glamorous as some would think. You have to watch spammers, be the "bad" guy and enforce the rules, etc.

Last edited:
Samzter said:
Hi people, I was asking this question generally because I was wondering what you have to do to become a moderator? Do you have to pay? What do you have to do? Do you have to love in America ? Please can a moderator help me or anyone who knows please reply. Thank you.

To become a mod you must be knowledgable in areas of fish keeping but not every area there can be a mod for certain areas like one may be better served in the Cichlid section and another in the saltwater section. All mods must know all forum rules and enforce them and also be ready for PM's from members asking for help or maybe issues there having with another member, you know a e-bully.