Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Community Forum > Aquaria Off-Topic
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 01-16-2012, 01:10 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
blackmolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 359
what to do if power is out?

it's been a really windy winter here, and i've been fortunate not to have lost power yet... but what should you do if the power does go out for an extended period of time? figured this could help other people too, since it seems to be a reacurring problem in some areas and it's just good stuff to know. anybody up for story time?
__________________

__________________
- Blackmolly
blackmolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 01:11 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Fishie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: US, Ga
Posts: 2,508
Yes! I want to know too ! Following.
__________________

__________________
55G-Malawi setup
2 20G long-community (planted)
5G and 10g-Fry
30G- S. and C. America tank
Fishie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 01:13 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Flossie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Tx
Posts: 1,906
The best thing to do is to have a generator or u can buy battery powered air pumps I believe
__________________
So God created great sea creatures and every living thing that scurries and swarms in the water
Flossie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 01:22 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paytertot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: joplin missouri
Posts: 1,822
I live in Joplin Missouri and when we had that bad tornado, my power was out for almost 2 weeks. What I did was stick a couple battery powered air pumps in there, and kept a flashlight shining in there so my rope fish wouldn't try and eat anyone. It was summer so temp wasn't a problem but if we have ice storms this year (like we always do) I'll be turning on the fireplace that's nearby and wrapping the tank in blankets.
__________________
"A fish with his mouth closed never gets caught" -mob quote
paytertot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 01:26 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Gboy66's Avatar

POTM Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Cali baby
Posts: 6,826
Quote:
Originally Posted by paytertot
I live in Joplin Missouri and when we had that bad tornado, my power was out for almost 2 weeks. What I did was stick a couple battery powered air pumps in there, and kept a flashlight shining in there so my rope fish wouldn't try and eat anyone. It was summer so temp wasn't a problem but if we have ice storms this year (like we always do) I'll be turning on the fireplace that's nearby and wrapping the tank in blankets.
Wow thats intense!! No loses?
__________________
Gboy66 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 01:34 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Convict2161's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 14,818
APC power surge battery back ups. If you get the good ones it will run your filter,heater whatever you feel is important for up to 70 minutes. I have all my tanks on one.

http://www.apc.com/products/category...e=US&tsk=g414v

Good luck!
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

"When creating an aqua scape, strive for the beauty of imperfection, as its art and there is no wrong or right, it's left open for interpretation" James Findley
Convict2161 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 01:36 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
paytertot's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: joplin missouri
Posts: 1,822
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gboy66

Wow thats intense!! No loses?
One, a 4" cobalt blue discus, but he was new anyway, too much stress.
__________________
"A fish with his mouth closed never gets caught" -mob quote
paytertot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 10:47 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
blackmolly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 359
Quote:
Originally Posted by paytertot View Post
I live in Joplin Missouri and when we had that bad tornado, my power was out for almost 2 weeks. What I did was stick a couple battery powered air pumps in there, and kept a flashlight shining in there so my rope fish wouldn't try and eat anyone. It was summer so temp wasn't a problem but if we have ice storms this year (like we always do) I'll be turning on the fireplace that's nearby and wrapping the tank in blankets.
interesting! never thought of using blankets! keep it coming guys!
__________________
- Blackmolly
blackmolly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2012, 12:26 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
OBEYtheFISH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Bridgetown
Posts: 1,194
Foil bubble wrap can be used as an outside insulation for the tank
__________________

__________________
OBEYtheFISH is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! Broken Power Filter Rpvance Freshwater & Brackish - Getting Started 4 01-06-2012 11:53 AM
No power, no backup... BallinCrew10 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 1 10-31-2011 06:28 PM
Power is OUT!!!!! jlk Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 12 10-12-2011 04:32 PM
Power outage prep Aqua315 Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 9 08-26-2011 02:02 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 10:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.