10g Planted Aquarium

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Quartz92

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hello, I am new to this forum and wanted to know if anyone could help me with a startup of a 10g planted tank. I have the tank set up, gravel, heater and filter ready!

If I asked you to aquascape and add fish what would you do?

Any advice is welcomed as I am new to planted tanks, I do have 5 years of freshwater experiance. I currently have a 31g cichlid tank and a 20g goldfish tank.

im thinking of aquascaping my 10 gallon tank after i get a bigger tank and transfer all my fish in there
what kind of plants are you thinking...i was thinking plants and red cherry shrimps for my 10 gallon since i wanted a shrimp only tank as well
keep us posted with pics

Ill kepp posted with pics too, my LFS only has a limited variety of plants so right now im getting hygrophillia, java fern, and anubias! Im getting (fish) ottos, bronze/sterbai corydoras, lemon and rummynose tetras, if everything goes good maybe 2 red cherry shrimp.

this is something that i would like to have one day...this is from another site i hope the owner doesnt mind me posting his pic

Attachments

• yt_127e.jpg
    yt_127e.jpg
    34.4 KB · Views: 106
i would wait to add otos in a new tank there really isnt much to eat. seems like you are adding a too much. i would stick to one type of cory and one of the smaller ones at that.

The / means or in my statment above. According to various sources on the internet and my LFS otos should be added first 2 weeks after having plants.

i think i would wait on the ottos untill you start seeing some algae growth

I am going to wait for algae growth. Is there any equipment or anything that you would reommened? And plants that are neat?