1x3 triple cube aquascape concept

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Rcguerra

Aquarium Advice FINatic
For those that haven't followed my saga, I am new to the hobby (started my studies/joined the forum in November 2012) and I only have one tank, but I am ready to bring things to the next level. Since I really like Betta fish, the idea is to have 3 independent tanks that form a single aquascape based on plant distribution, substrate level and continuity of ornaments. Thetanks must be independent so I can have a male Betta on each tank.

The first subject I would like to address is the substrate level. Here are the choices:

image-2758103515.jpg

Top had an "island" shape

Middle has a "valley" shape

Bottom has a "sliding" shape.

I am very inclined to go with the top option, but I am willing to hear from those with more experience. Anyone?

I realize that I might be the only one understanding the drawing, so here is option 1, 2 and 3 with black background and dark substrate to better illustrate the options:

Attachments

• image-3444460305.jpg
    image-3444460305.jpg
    205.4 KB · Views: 301
While all three look really cool, they will be hard to maintain. No matter how you arrange it at first, it is most likely to even out within a few days. Can't defeat gravity.

The current tank I have preserved the inclination. I did you some physical retention under the substrate to avoid regular settling to take place. I believe I have enough data to make it, even though you are absolutely right, it can't be really radical otherwise it will end up leveled.

image-2699077234.jpg

Random example of other triple concepts that were successful with slopes.

Definitely following. It'd be cool if they were all touching.

I thought about that, but I believe the gap makes it a real triptych http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Triptych