Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-03-2014, 12:06 AM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
cheesy318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 140
55 gal drilled with sump?

Does anyone have a planted tank with a "sump"? I currently have 1 75gal and 1 45 gallon freshwater non planted on one wall with a load bearing beam and a 29 gallon planted on another wall no beam . I want to combine the two and it been debated back and forth whether or not our floor can tolerate it.
It's only 10 more gallons I know, ideally it's be a 75.

Stock in the 45
2 angels
2 hi fin platy
1 guppy
1 sunset gourami
1 golden ram

29 gallon
3 gold cloud danios
3blue neon tetras
5 hi fin platy
1 angel
1 gourami gold and blue can't think of the name for the life of me
2 cherry barbs
1 bushel nosed Eco


Have plants too
Have fern
Java moss
Melon sword
Dwarf hair grass
Banana grass crockscrew


When I switch, it will be while just getting some research done first, cand I use fresh substrate or do I have to use the same. I plane on using established water from 29.


If you have a freshwater sump, what do you use for filtration or I should ask how do you set it up as a filtration device?

Any ideas welcome.



Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
cheesy318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2014, 12:54 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,810
I used to run a wet dry filter/sump many years ago with a planted tank. Sheets of foam and filter floss can be used to remove the physical waste. If you plan on injecting CO2 then quite a bit of it may be lost in the down spout or drain and in the media (if you use trickle media).
There is more bacteria in the gravel than in the tank water.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________

__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 08:43 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
cheesy318's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 140
What is a wet/dry set up and how would one create that? Or how did you do it?


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
cheesy318 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2014, 10:18 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,810
Here is a pic of a typical wet/dry filter:
Basically it is a tank with chambers. Water drains from an overflow from the tank. It passes through a drip plate or rotating spray bar into the primary chamber which is filled with biomedia. The water trickles through the media where the gas exchange occurs and the oxygen is plentiful. This promotes the growth of beneficial bacteria where nitrogenous waste is broken down. After the primary chamber, water will pass through smaller chambers that often contain mechanical and chemical filter media, heaters, etc. In the final chamber is a return pump which pumps water back to the tank.
The sump is generally the (wet/dry) tank itself. It does not always have to be filled with trickle media. In saltwater setups, live rock is typically used.
The design is rather simple and if you have DYI skills, you can build one from an empty fish tank, glass partitions, and silicone.


Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
drilled, led, sump

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Reading or advice on how to plumb 125g drilled tank / sump / skimmer Caige General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 15 06-16-2009 12:07 PM
Sump - Drilled Tank questions gav360 Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 02-10-2005 03:46 PM
setting up sump/fuge for 75 gal pre-drilled rgmatzke Saltwater Reef Aquaria 4 07-02-2004 10:33 AM
Drilled sump is LOUD!! How to fix?? bigreddastud Saltwater Reef Aquaria 2 03-18-2004 09:59 PM
pre-drilled or not pre-drilled that is my question ohio reefer Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 1 11-14-2003 06:25 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.