55 planted

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

FishRus

Aquarium Advice Freak
So I'm completely new to this and I've done some research and looked at other peoples post's and I'm still a bit confused on everything I need and what goes first and how often... I have many questions unfortunately. I just want to make sure I do it right and make it safe for my fish

I have a 55 gal tank with a regular filter on the back(forgot the acronym for that) I'll be putting sand in(first time doing that) in with low light plants. 9 Best Freshwater Aquarium Plants for Beginners | Home Aquaria

^plants like this

Could anyone explain to me kind of a crash course on building a planted take. The steps in order and what I need(brands would be helpful also)

To everyone who replies I really appreciate it!

If you have any questions I'll do my best to answer them.

Thanks!

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice

I'm not an expert but you should put a couple of fish in there to cycle it

Sent from my iPod touch using Aquarium Advice

Assuming you haven't invested into a light system for plants then you are going to have low light.

The plants that can be grown fairly easy for that light level include anubias, bolbitis, crypts, java fern, and java moss. There are some more, but those are generally the easiest and will fare the best.

After that, there really isn't anything special that you need to do to care for them as they are all very easy to keep. The crypts need root tabs though and tend to melt when moved.

being a newbie myself and finding this site, my advices is read,read,read. Everything you asked about are covered. Read about cycling and lights first.

So how do I know what plants need root tabs? Also do I put my substrate in then my sand then plants then my fish?