5g planted tank!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

fishybuisness

Aquarium Advice Freak
So I'm planning on a 5 gallon planted tank with a few shrimp and guppies. Anyways I'm a total newbie with a planted tank..do I cycle it as normal? What type of substrate? What about feeding the plants? Fill me in on what I'm getting into guys!

It really comes down to what your budget is because plants, substrate, livestock, and equipment all add up.

The smaller the tank the more difficult to maintain and in a 5g, I wouldn't recommend more than just some shrimp. Definitely cycle it as normal but because of how little water there is, you need to pay very close attention to the ammonia, nitrate and nitrite measurements, they build up quick! As for plants, anything that stays small. Anubias are a good choice, java fern, maybe some mosses like Java or fire. Other people will have more more suggestions but hopefully this will give you a start! You could have some snails on there too.

I have floramax and my shrimp seem to like to because of the small size. Also I have 5 gallon shrimp tank and it is not very hard to maintain except water changes (shrimp are sensitive copper) and regular plant trimming :)

Yeah I'm not to concerned about keeping the water quality..that comes second nature..Lol I want like a grass bed with some floating plants and all

People successfully have fish in 5 gallon tanks. It's not just for shrimp.

You could try to grow a dwarf hairgrass carpet but you will need a high output light. If your budget is not low I would recommend the finnex ray 2. It puts out a lot of kelvin perfect for dwarf hairgrass. You could grow it without co2, but it will grow slower.