88F to fight ICH in my planted tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

67Elmo

Aquarium Advice Newbie
As a relative newbie, I thought I'd post this here instead of the disease forum...

I have a 2 month old 75 gallon planted tank that is to be a showpiece in my living room. CO2, plant gravel, full spectrum lighting, etc. The tank and plants are doing amazingly well with the CO2 injection, and have surpassed my expectations.

However a particularly virulent strain of ICH is in the tank from the fish I put in, even though they were in my quarantine tank for two weeks first with no symptoms. I have guppies, harlequin rasboras, cardinal and neon tetras only in this tank. I have been treating for a MONTH with a product called ICH-X which is supposed to be the most powerful product sold in Canada for Ich. I do 20% water changes DAILY (its getting old after a month) and add the chemical daily as per the instructions on the bottle. The temperature is 78-82F.

However half the neons and cardinals have died, but the harlequin rasboras and guppies seem fine. I have about a dozen cardinals left and 3 or 4 of them STILL HAVE SPOTS from the ich. Not a lot, but perhaps 3 or 4 spots each. It just won't go away despite a full month of daily treatment. The guppies and rasboras do not have spots and appear fully normal.

My only option now is to crank the temperature up to about 88F which is supposed to kill ich, especially if I keep treating it daily. But this is supposed to harm plants which I don't want to do as the tank looks magnificent now with the luxuriant growth.