Advice one aquascaping

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Joebetts

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hi everyone I am new to this and new to aquascaping so any advice would be appreciated. I have a 160l tank and a couple of pieces of driftwood. Would anybody help me or give reccomendations of positioning this hardscape and where the best places to place my plants would be. I would like some anubius as well as java fern and moss and dwarf hair grass. And maybe something amazon sword to try and hide the filter inlet. Any help ?

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    242 KB · Views: 94
Wow I like that piece of wood, all burly looking with cool areas for things to hide and swim through!

I'd leave the wood where it is and as you state add the swords over by the filter intake pipe.

IMO Anubias AND Java Fern look great tied off to wood. If you put the anubias a little higher on the wood, the roots may grow down and it looks very natural.

The wood needs plants mingled in and attached.

Dwarf hair grass would look good in front of the wood, between the front glass.

In front of the amazons you might consider a low growing crypt.

I would also suggest some black out "paper" in the back glass.

You are going to have a very nice set up no matter what you do, the wood piece looks great!

Would you recommend boiling the driftwood before ? This would be a problem given the size. Or any other method of treatment ?? It is bought from a shop so would it be okay as it is ?

Hi Joebetts,

That is an awesome piece of driftwood. I would recommend boiling it if you can. I have 2 large pieces in my tank and it was hard to do that. If you place them in a large plastic tote for a few weeks that will help. If it floats, put something on it to keep it submerged.

2 issues you may have of you dont boil/soak the wood: