advice please

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

iambannana

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
hi there, so i gave a 250l tank that is just getting overrun with algae, and i really dont know what im doing wrong. im dosing flourish once a week and exel everyday, and the stuff is just taking over. i have 4x52w t5HO lights and ive tried turning half of them off but it doesnt seem to make a difference.. can i test my water for some defficiencys or something like that?

Attachments

• DSCF2378.jpg
    DSCF2378.jpg
    221.7 KB · Views: 93
  • DSCF2379.jpg
    DSCF2379.jpg
    227 KB · Views: 83
  • DSCF2380.jpg
    DSCF2380.jpg
    225.4 KB · Views: 91
I'm by no means a plant expert, but I would stop dosing the fertilizers and do some water changes. I don't think you have enough plants to warrant the ferts, so the algae is using the excess.

hi there, so i gave a 250l tank that is just getting overrun with algae, and i really dont know what im doing wrong. im dosing flourish once a week and exel everyday, and the stuff is just taking over. i have 4x54w t5HO lights and ive tried turning half of them off but it doesnt seem to make a difference.. can i test my water for some defficiencys or something like that?

Holy Captain Nemo, Batman! That's a lot of light. I would wager that's your problem. You're probably past the 'obligatory CO2' threshold by a long shot. Once the algae gets established, lowering the light to 2 bulbs won't get rid of it. I think you need to dip treat most of the affected pieces in H2O2 and find a way to radically reduce your light levels to a level that you can manage with excel and ferts as you are dosing them.

Any particular reason you wanted that much light? It looks like you've only really got medium light plants in there.