Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 02-09-2013, 10:57 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrs.h2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,977
Algae and liquid co2?

I now have an algae problem I didn't have one until I started using liquid co2. Does the liquid co2 cause algae?
__________________

__________________
Mrs.h2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 11:02 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Aquatic_Adam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 1,948
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs.h2012 View Post
I now have an algae problem I didn't have one until I started using liquid co2. Does the liquid co2 cause algae?
Yep, ingredient list for liquid CO2 is pure algae

All kidding aside. Algae arises from a balancing issue between CO2, light, and nutrients. Any one of those three gets too high or too low, you have a recipe for algae.
__________________

__________________
"What the world needs is more geniuses with humility, there are so few of us left."
Aquatic_Adam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-09-2013, 11:51 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrs.h2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Predfan27 View Post

Yep, ingredient list for liquid CO2 is pure algae

All kidding aside. Algae arises from a balancing issue between CO2, light, and nutrients. Any one of those three gets too high or too low, you have a recipe for algae.
Would it be better for me to just stick to liquid ferts and skip the co2 from now on?
__________________
Mrs.h2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 12:00 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
aqua_chem's Avatar


 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Baltimore, MD
Posts: 6,936
Glutaraldehyde is actually algaecidal.
__________________
Algae creates 75% of the world's oxygen, so really we're all just doing our parts...
aqua_chem is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 12:26 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
The liquid carbon isn't causing the algae. How long are you running your lights for daily? And what type of algae? A picture would be helpful.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 02:01 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Newbie
 
Kalimist71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4
"Liquid co2"


*facepalm*
__________________
Kalimist71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 02:05 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mrs.h2012 View Post
I now have an algae problem I didn't have one until I started using liquid co2. Does the liquid co2 cause algae?
When referring to liquid CO2 are you using Excel, API CO2 Booster, or Glutaraldehyde? Those are liquid carbon.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 10:16 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrs.h2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivercats View Post

When referring to liquid CO2 are you using Excel, API CO2 Booster, or Glutaraldehyde? Those are liquid carbon.
It's API co2 booster. In running lights about 6 hours. Ive used my limit of pictures unfortunately so I can't post any. But it's brown algae from what I can tell.
__________________
Mrs.h2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 01:16 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
Your tank is fairly new isn't it? If so you most likely have diatoms. Diatoms almost always appear in new tank setups. They use the excess silicates in water and will eventually run their course with time. Cutting your light down to 6 hours a day will help keep them under control alittle better and if they drive you nuts you can add a couple nerite snails as they love diatoms. Don't remember the size of your tank but BNP's also eat diatoms. I like nerites as they really don't add to a tanks bio-load.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 01:42 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrs.h2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivercats View Post
Your tank is fairly new isn't it? If so you most likely have diatoms. Diatoms almost always appear in new tank setups. They use the excess silicates in water and will eventually run their course with time. Cutting your light down to 6 hours a day will help keep them under control alittle better and if they drive you nuts you can add a couple nerite snails as they love diatoms. Don't remember the size of your tank but BNP's also eat diatoms. I like nerites as they really don't add to a tanks bio-load.
It's a 55g. I do have an albino BNP. I've had my 55g up for about a month, but the filters that are running on it are the ones I had on my 30, just transferred the filters over.
__________________
Mrs.h2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 01:46 PM   #11
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Rivercats's Avatar



POTM Champion
Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Missouri
Posts: 13,146
If the brown algae easily wipes off then it's most likely diatoms. If your BNP is well fed it may not eat much algae, they get like that sometimes.
__________________
Rivercats 220g planted tank
Rivercats is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-10-2013, 09:01 PM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Mrs.h2012's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,977
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rivercats View Post
If the brown algae easily wipes off then it's most likely diatoms. If your BNP is well fed it may not eat much algae, they get like that sometimes.
That's probably it, it does wipe off very easy. Before this I had no algae problem and was feeding him zucchini slices ever few days. BNP will munch on it every now and then, but not all the time. LFS is getting in some nerite snails next week... I may get a couple of them when they come in.
__________________

__________________
Mrs.h2012 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
algae, co2

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×