Amazon Biotope questions

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Lowryder

Aquarium Advice Addict
So while my 29g cycles, I want to rescape. I have already changed over to PFS and was wondering what plants would work. I figured I should stay in the Echinodorus genus and keep it to mostly low light, I have a 17w, t8, 8000k light. I will be stocking Angelfish, Bolivian ram, keyhole cichlid, cories and hatchetfish. Any suggestions? I dont plan on having a CO2 setup just yet.

With 17W on a 29g, you'll have to stick to low-light plants. They might even struggle a bit. Not sure about biotope correctness, but I'd suggest anacharis.

Well I have no problem getting a brighter bulb, I just dont want to go high tech. Any suggestions on a bulb? Im a plant newb.

I don't think you can get a brighter bulb unless you upgrade your fixture. Adding a second 17W T8 bulb would go a long way. Switching to 6700K color temperature would be a small improvement too.

I'd look for a 65w fixture if you want plants for that biotope. With your current lighting you will be severely limited.

Ok you guys talked me into it, I will look for a 65w fixture. So lets go woth suggestions for that, I was thinking some hair grass and amazon swords.

do you want blackwater amazon biotope or "clear" amazon biotope?

The amazon is a huge river and has tons of different environments within its banks.

Hair grass IME would need more than 65w....meaning its more of a high tech (or atleast closer to high than low tech) plant. I have only had success with it (fast, healthy growth) when I had high light, co2, ferts. I've also noticed that it took a bit more light than I thought to light a 29g or any slightly tall tank.