Amazon plants for a 10 gallon?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

JacksonJigsaw

Aquarium Advice Activist
So I have a 10 gallon tank I am trying to make like the amazon river. No particular part, just a general for now. I have PFS for the bottom with oak leaves and a big hunk of mopanii wood ( I know it's not from the amazon but what can you do lol), and plastic amazon swords. I wanna get rid of the fake plants for some real ones. I have black neon tetras and corys. The tanks been going for bout 7 months.

So the question of the day would be what other plants beside amazon sword could I use? Preferably easy to find ones I could find at most stores that don't take allot of work. This is my first try at live plants so any hints for plants listed would be wonderful.

Here's a list I found in Aquarium USA Magazine from a year ago:
water milfoil
hair grass
pygmy chain sword plant
amazon swords (echinodorus amazonicus or palaefolius)

Here's a list I found in Aquarium USA Magazine from a year ago:
water milfoil
hair grass
pygmy chain sword plant
amazon swords (echinodorus amazonicus or palaefolius)

I read that the amazon sword gets huge? Which would be good in what part of the tank ?

Yes, amazons get huge (they have a big footprint) but to get them that big you'll need some ferts and root tabs. I'd say the back so that way the focus is more on the fish and not distracted by the plants.

So as long as I don't try to grow them they will stay smaller? Hair grass in the front, dwarf amazons in the middle and amazon swords in the back. Hopefully I can find all these at one of the pet shops around here. Thanks for the help, if I can figure out how I will post now and later photos.

Amazon's will out grow the tank. Why dont you get vals instead.