Anabius

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

BlazedSaint

Aquarium Advice Freak
Hi Everybody!(hi Dr.Nick)
kk now that a lil silliness is out of the way, lol, i am new to keeping fish/plants. i set my 29 gallon bio cube up friday 8/2/12, i didnt mess with it all weekend except adding a little gravel and putting in a cave(small pineapple under the sea for my daughter) i just attempted to cycle the tank with zebra danios, this was a total lose, however i just recieved my order of plants from the dr foster and smith website, with that said im looking for planting instructions for anubis afzelii, anubis barteri, and hornwort, also is this safe to put in while cycling and can anyone suggest a way i can cycle my tank using these plants with minimal lose of fish lives?

Also Any Information Regarding these plants would be welcome how they grow/ good places to put them im tank/ even facts regarding how to help them root, how well they grow pretty much any general info i can get would be lovely

I never have luck with hornwort but I do have a lot of anubias. I attach them to rocks with rubber bands (can use fishing line too). The trick with them is not to bury the rhizome otherwise it will rot. I have heard of people using superglue to attach plants to rocks and driftwood but I have never tried it and am not sure how nontoxic it would be.

Hello :)
I cycled my tank in two weeks! Hers how I did It
Live plants, they suck up a lot of ammonia, believe it or not
I added tetra safe start, and in two weeks my parameters were perfect
I did I fish less cycle, fish in cycles are cruel for fin a the ammonia burns their gills and plus, it takes longer than a fish less cycle
Do you have a master test kit?