Anyone here from Alabama

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nicodiscus

Aquarium Advice Newbie
:olympic:Hi Guys-
I'm a long time hobbyist who's been doing SW for the last ten years or so-
but recently moved to AL and can't afford to set up a full blown reef like a had-I've always loved discus-but I've never had a really nice planted FW tank-
I know the best way to get a nice collection of species is from fellow hobbyists, atleast it was in saltwater- as I was constantly pruning some corals like anthleia and xenia-and new hobbyist loved to get my trimmings-
I was wondering if anyone here, in Birmingham AL, has planted tanks that they have to prune-
I have alot of equipment from the LFS i worked at, like filters, heaters etc
if you want to trade ;)

What I plan to run is my PC's (4x96wt) over a 40gl long- is that too much Light, if so I can run only 2 of the bulbs-
I have 10k and actinic bulbs now- I know I need to get a diferent buld comb.-what do you guys reccomend?

Thanks for any input or advice-
nico:bandit:

Hi and welcome to AA!

It just so happens that I am also from the Birmingham area and I have a couple planted tanks. I prune pretty regularly....and have mostly stem plants now. I sell trimmings....haven't traded yet.

4x96w is alot over a 40g....even if you discount the actinic (not that useful in FW planted tanks)....so even the 2 10K bulbs alone is alot unless you are running co2. I would use 1 96 and 1 actinic for now...then later if you decide you want to look into a co2 setup, you could run the 2 10K bulbs. I wouldn't think you'd ever need all 4 96w bulbs...in the right spectrum. That would be serious overkill.

And the 10K bulbs work for FW....so you don't have to replace them.