Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 03-01-2005, 05:34 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 197
Send a message via AIM to kagentx
Aqua Medic Aqualine Co2 Reactor

Does anyone know what kind of powerhead or water pump is used for the Aqua Medic Aqualine Co2 Reactor? I've sent emails to the company directly and the supplier, but got no response. The CO2 are not diffused properly, i'm using the Rio 180 powerhead.

Also, i accidently broke my bubble counter 8O . Is there a site online that sells them? I need a milwaukee bubble counter.
__________________

__________________
kagentx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 10:52 PM   #2
AA Team Emeritus
 
TankGirl's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Richmond VA
Posts: 8,974
I'm sorry I don't have specific answers for you - but need more info in terms of why you say the CO2 is not diffused properly.

A powerhead is good but the bubbles need to bash around against objects to be properly diffused, so some sort of chamber needs to go along with a powerhead for CO2. In the case of the Aqualine the bubbles simply ride up the "ladder" instead, getting smaller and smaller as they go, so no powerhead should be necessary, if I understand correctly what you have.
__________________

TankGirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2005, 10:53 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Jacksonville, Florida
Posts: 118
Which Aqua Medic Reactor do you have? If it's the 1000 then you'll need to drive it by a canister filters output or a pump/powerhead that delivers 250 gph. A Rio 180 is not powerful enough. You might could get by with a Rio 800 (211 gph) but a Rio 1100 would be a better choice, though running it off a canister filters output is the best option. I'm less familiar with the other AM reactors.
__________________
www.aquariaplants.com
Steve Hampton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2005, 11:28 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
travis simonson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Englewood, CO
Posts: 2,073
The AB AquaMedic 500 is an in-tank reactor which can be driven by a powerhead if that's what you've got. And www.aquatic-store.com has some good deals on bubble counters if you need a new one.
__________________
There is something in the quality of a good translation that can never be captured in the original.
-William Gibson
travis simonson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 02:22 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: NY
Posts: 197
Send a message via AIM to kagentx
i figured out the reactor now... the problem was that the output pressure wasn't high enough to push the bubbles into the circular stairs of the reactor. Now that i've fixed the problem, the tank is more lively! geez... i wished i figured that out sooner... i've been so caught up with school work i didn't have time to check up on the tank!

btw... wa PSI is the right gauge suppose to read? I'm guessing the higher the more output pressure, am i right? or is it the left one? I have the milwaukee regulator...

thanks travis, i'll consider buying the bubble counter because it seems to be fine without it =D. Your tank is going to be my inspiration
__________________
kagentx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2005, 03:27 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ohio
Posts: 23
Send a message via AIM to asnatlas
Quote:
Originally Posted by kagentx
i figured out the reactor now... the problem was that the output pressure wasn't high enough to push the bubbles into the circular stairs of the reactor. Now that i've fixed the problem, the tank is more lively! geez... i wished i figured that out sooner... i've been so caught up with school work i didn't have time to check up on the tank!

btw... wa PSI is the right gauge suppose to read? I'm guessing the higher the more output pressure, am i right? or is it the left one? I have the milwaukee regulator...

thanks travis, i'll consider buying the bubble counter because it seems to be fine without it =D. Your tank is going to be my inspiration
The left gauge is the PSI of the CO2 tank. (When your tank is freshly filled it should reg about 1000 PSI). The right gauge show the PSI of the gas being released...

Shawn
__________________
asnatlas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 05:01 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: st louis
Posts: 221
Also to let you know Aquamedic now makes a unit with the powerhead combined as part of the package. Not sure who in the us is selling this yet though
__________________
Marcus S Russo
marcus russo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-10-2005, 11:22 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: san jose ca
Posts: 24
im having a problwm with bubbles in my reactor. i have a maxi jet 1200 as it recommended using and it has bubbles in the back and ive been trying to bleed the bbules out but it wont come out is something wrong?
__________________

__________________
mrkho is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, reactor

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aqua-Medic 1000 or Reg Grigg Reactor? jazmine Freshwater & Brackish - General Discussion 5 09-22-2009 07:12 AM
Aqua Medic 1000 Co2 reactor ???? MalawiMadness Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 01-13-2007 11:53 PM
aqua medic ca reactor rbarb1111 General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 0 03-04-2006 12:17 PM
I added the Aqua Medic 1000 Bactoball reactor Xzap General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 10 10-13-2005 12:37 PM
Aqua Medic Membrane Diffuser vs. Reactor 1000 co2 reactor AquariumFreak Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 03-30-2004 12:17 AM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 04:48 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.