Aquarium Plants pls help!

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

ChuckBay

Aquarium Advice Apprentice
Hello,

I have so many questions where to start,

(I have a juwel 180 with extra rena xp2 filter)
Whats the best lighting for my tank? (lights and time they are on)
What is the cause of the black tufts of algae i get?
Do more plants help reduce algae?
Do i need any thing extra for plant keeping??
Do i need a bubble aeriator thing?
Is sand better than gravel for plants?

Thanks all in advance,

P.s. sorry for the large ammount of questions im new to aquarium forums!

Hi!

First, what kind of tank are you wanting? Something simple, like a low-light setup, or are you wanting to go high-tech with high-lighting, CO2, and ferts?

More plants can help, as they consume the nutrients so the algae cannot. This requires, however, that you keep all of you nutrients appropriately balanced so that there's not excess of one or another.

Hello, thatnkyou,
I want preferably a well planted tank... does that need all that extra equipment?

You can have high light well planted tanks and low light well planted tanks. :)

You can grow many plants without injecting co2, but you have to keep the lighting down a bit so you don't have increased algae issues. Is this more of what you want....to keep it on the simple side?

Bubble aerators aren't necessary. Sand and gravel are both fine for planted tanks.

whats the difference between low and high light ? is that the time its on or bulb types? and thankyou this is all very helpful :D

It's the amount of light. For example on a 55 gallon aquarium, 55 watts would be about low light, 110 watts would be about medium light, 165 watts would be about high light, and 220+ watts would be very high light.

getting started

hello!