Are my plants dying off?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

Jobin13

Aquarium Advice Regular
Hey!

My 40 g breeder seems to be losing plants! My plants are continuing to melt despite a finished cycle...I'm also dosing with sachems fertilizer. Is this normal with amazon sword and crypts wendtii? I've never kept these plants before but I have kept other varieties.
recent

Could be normal melt. Sounds like it.

Crypts are known melters. Im not a sword expert but good chance

Funken_A is right sounds like normal melt, if it is they should come back. What seachem products were you using, as I am no expert either. It could be a deficiency.

I use the generic flourish. I was also using Purigen to clear tannins but I took that out. Since then I've lost 4 fish My tank does not produce excess nitrates it seems. After cycling and doing a 90% water change I have almost no nitrates. I added a good bio load and fed well too. yet after 1.5 weeks I have no ammonia, nitrite, or nitrate. It's like the plants gobble it up before it makes a presence in the water...

I do have a planted tank that's fishes cycling and producing a great nitrate load would it be a bad idea if I were to do water changes between tanks to bump up the nitrate load somewhat usefully over time?

It might risk adding a little nitrite in the process too..

I do have a planted tank that's fishes cycling and producing a great nitrate load would it be a bad idea if I were to do water changes between tanks to bump up the nitrate load somewhat usefully over time?

It might risk adding a little nitrite in the process too..

I don't think your tank is properly cycled yet to be honest. Fish deaths would have been caused by an ammonia spike. Plants won't use up that much nitrate in such a small period of time.