Are these Water Parameters ok ??

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

mandoborg

Aquarium Advice Activist
Being a newbie i just want some second opinions on the results i got from my API test kit yesterday afternoon.

Nitrite 2.0 ppm
Nitrate 10ppm
Ammonia 0ppm
PH 7.0
High PH 7.4 (why two PH tests in this kit) ??

It's a 29 gallon with all the usual suspects, Anubias', Swords, Hydro sp. Rotala, etc.........

Theres about 20 fish in there, all small Neons and Serpaes, but a couple of large Angels, a pleco, and a Pictus cat.......... all others are smallies.......

i run a Finnex Ray2 12/12 cycle with CO2 and dosed the PPS system everyday, but have an Algae problem coming on strong so i'm thinking on going to every other day.........

Everything looks great, fish a happy as can be, plants look healthy, but being a newbie, i just want to make sure theres nothing in those numbers that might indicate a problem in the future.........

Thanks as always....the HOURS i spend reading here are really starting to pay off with LOTS of compliments when people come over and see the tank !!!......I love just sitting in front of it and watching everything !!.......

Jim

If your nitrites are really 2ppm that is not good at all. How long has your tank been set up and is it cycled? If it's cycled it should have 0ppm of nitrites. That level is very dangerous to the health of your fish and you need to do 50% WC's until you get the nitrite level down to .25ppm or less. Also you need to do a 50% WC anytime those levels get above .25ppm.