Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 06-17-2013, 10:50 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dizzydea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 455
Attention!! Need help asap from co2 diyers

Can this phosban reactor he used as a co2 reactor? And what do I put in it? Bio balls are out of the question because I can't get them here. I bought a Red Sea reactor but I hate it! It's to noisy and I don't like the way it diffuses. I also have an atomizer to attach as we'll.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-1767128584.jpg
Views:	94
Size:	126.8 KB
ID:	181033  
__________________

__________________
Dizzydea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 12:24 AM   #2
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dizzydea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 455
C'mon people
__________________

__________________
Dizzydea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 12:35 AM   #3
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tobykourtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzydea View Post
C'mon people
You could use it as a reactor but the barb fitting for the co2 line looks a little large. You'd also have to put the input on top and output on bottom assuming your using a canister and not just hooking it up to a powerhead in the tank.
__________________
Tobykourtney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 12:38 AM   #4
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tobykourtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzydea View Post
Can this phosban reactor he used as a co2 reactor? And what do I put in it? Bio balls are out of the question because I can't get them here. I bought a Red Sea reactor but I hate it! It's to noisy and I don't like the way it diffuses. I also have an atomizer to attach as we'll.
Sorry just realized your input and outflow are both on top and yes that would be fairly easy to make into a reactor
__________________
Tobykourtney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 12:48 AM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tobykourtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzydea View Post
Can this phosban reactor he used as a co2 reactor? And what do I put in it? Bio balls are out of the question because I can't get them here. I bought a Red Sea reactor but I hate it! It's to noisy and I don't like the way it diffuses. I also have an atomizer to attach as we'll.
If you do not have a spot for co2 tubing to go through drill one. Make it 4-5 inches long push it through the hole and seal around it. Leave a few inches of tubing on the outside of the reactor and install your check valve there. Put your outflow on the elbow attachment the pulls the water from the bottom and your intake on the straight barb fitting.the water from the outflow will push the bottoms down and chop them up. When your co2 bubbles are not buoyant enough to float they will get sucked into your intake and pushed into your tank. I've never used that type of phosphate reactor so I'm just assuming that's how it works. But since you've probably know how the reactor is supposed to work for its designed purpose you should be able to verify
__________________
Tobykourtney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 01:49 AM   #6
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dizzydea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 455
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tobykourtney View Post

If you do not have a spot for co2 tubing to go through drill one. Make it 4-5 inches long push it through the hole and seal around it. Leave a few inches of tubing on the outside of the reactor and install your check valve there. Put your outflow on the elbow attachment the pulls the water from the bottom and your intake on the straight barb fitting.the water from the outflow will push the bottoms down and chop them up. When your co2 bubbles are not buoyant enough to float they will get sucked into your intake and pushed into your tank. I've never used that type of phosphate reactor so I'm just assuming that's how it works. But since you've probably know how the reactor is supposed to work for its designed purpose you should be able to verify
Great! Thanks for the thorough instructions I have never used the phosban reactors, they came with the tank.
__________________
Dizzydea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 08:32 AM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
Tobykourtney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 1,347
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzydea View Post

Great! Thanks for the thorough instructions I have never used the phosban reactors, they came with the tank.
No problem
__________________
Tobykourtney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 10:48 AM   #8
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Gabriel3303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lancaster pa
Posts: 149
I got a quick question pertaining to co2 can u add that to a tank at any time or should u do it at the beginning of a tank set up
__________________
Gabriel3303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 11:01 AM   #9
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
byork's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Buford, Georgia
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gabriel3303 View Post
I got a quick question pertaining to co2 can u add that to a tank at any time or should u do it at the beginning of a tank set up
IME, You can add it later or start with it. Be careful starting with it since your plants are not established you may have more difficulty achieving and maintaining a balance. Either way you will want to watch you levels very close.
__________________
byork is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 11:18 AM   #10
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Gabriel3303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lancaster pa
Posts: 149
K thanks i need to reseach an learn about the whole thing anyway cuase i don't know anything about them i just didn't wana waste my time if it wasnt feasible
__________________
Gabriel3303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 11:26 AM   #11
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dizzydea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 455
So what do I put in the phosban reactor?
__________________
Dizzydea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 11:37 AM   #12
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzydea View Post
So what do I put in the phosban reactor?
if you don't have access to bio balls then i would suggest going to a pet store and find the ball toys that small pets play with. these balls should be made of plastics with holes in them.
__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 11:40 AM   #13
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
something like this but more rounded and smaller

Toys"R"Us® Pets Football with Holes Dog Toy
__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 11:54 AM   #14
Aquarium Advice Activist
 
Gabriel3303's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lancaster pa
Posts: 149
http://m.petsmart.com/mt/www.petsmar...AvailInUS%2FNo here ya go bird toys
__________________
Gabriel3303 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 03:45 PM   #15
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dizzydea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 455
Thanks for the help guys, I'm assuming g that because these are pet toys they Re safe for my aquarium.
__________________
Dizzydea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 10:56 PM   #16
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dizzydea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 455
Will these dish scrubbies work if I can find the animal toys
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	image-3925397192.jpg
Views:	33
Size:	125.0 KB
ID:	181262  
__________________
Dizzydea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 11:00 PM   #17
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
the idea behind bioballs is to provide enough agitation for the co2 gas that's coming in and to break big bubbles into smaller ones until co2 is diffused into the water. if you feel that these "scrubbies" might work then you should try. but i have a feeling that it might not because it's too soft and the current from your reactor is going to push it to one end of the reactor rather than having the "churning effect" you would hope for.
__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 11:42 PM   #18
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dizzydea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 455
So you want the balls moving around?
__________________
Dizzydea is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 11:45 PM   #19
Aquarium Advice Addict
 
dragonfisher33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 1,963
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dizzydea View Post
So you want the balls moving around?
that's why you want the bioballs, if you don't want movement, then there's no point of having bioballs. but the idea is to increase agitation in order to cut down on the size of the bubble even more and allow them to diffuse easier
__________________
dragonfisher33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2013, 11:51 PM   #20
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Dizzydea's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Canada
Posts: 455
So is it necessary to have an atomizer as well?
__________________

__________________
Dizzydea is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, diy

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off








» Photo Contest Winners







All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
×