Best substrate system for planted tank?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

SnailorJ

Aquarium Advice Activist
Hi all, I am moving soon and will have to take apart both of my tanks for the move. Currently, I have sand in both and am using root tabs to fertilize my plants, but I was thinking that it might make sense to use a fertilizer type substrate beneath the sand layer since I am already stripping the tanks. I have some plants that are heavy root feeders, and I think they might really benefit from this. However, I have no experience with this type of substrate and would appreciate any advice!

10 gallon:
Dwarf Sagittaria (weak carpet)
Uruguayan Sword
Red Tiger Lotus
Ludwigia (Red and Ovalis)
Moneywort

I would go for flourite or eco-complete. Flourite is finer and needs to be capped and eco-complete is larger grained but doesn't need to be capped.

Okay, thanks. I have heard of people using garden soil as a cheaper alternative, but I was afraid that would have chemicals in it possibly? I imagine that would be a cheaper solution for sure, but I don't know if it's actually usable. Anyone know about this?

I use dirt in all my tanks. All i use is miracle gro organic potting soil with clay and crushed coral to buffer the ph. I use a cap of pool filter sand.

Sent from my iPod touch using Aquarium Advice

Okay, thanks! I guess I'll get some kind of organic potting soil, and do a few inches of that, capped by like and inch or two or sand?

Sent from my iPhone using Aquarium Advice