Betta Tank : I need advice

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

GoldeenTrix9898

Aquarium Advice Activist
I'm a beginner at fish-keeping, and I was hoping somebody more experienced could judge my tank and see what could be changed before I add my betta. I have a 5 gallon tank with a 50w mini heater, a 5w 6400k fluorescent light, a hanging power filter, and an air pump. I also use both liquid and substrate fertilizers. I have yet to acquire an iron nutrient supply for the red plant. ImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1426421607.394713.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1426421643.511964.jpgImageUploadedByAquarium Advice1426421668.197097.jpg
1. Is there anything particularly dangerous in the tank? Like places where a betta would get hurt?
2. My filter is behind the wall like ornament in the back, should I stick a sponge on it so my betta doesn't get sucked in? It's on the lowest setting. I would prefer not to, but I will if necessary.
3. The air pump is there because without it my 50w heater only heats half the tank. Is there any way to make it heat the whole thing without the pump? I heard betta fish dislike it. It has very weak bubbles right now, but still.
4. I currently have an Anubias nana, an Amazon sword, a small bunch of anacharis, and a Java moss ball in there. I need some help identifying the two mystery plants in the back however. The one that looks like a Christmas tree and the red one.

Sent from my iPad using Aquarium Advice