BioCube 29g planted, possible?

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

water_man11

Aquarium Advice Activist
I am a police officer and my Chief asked me to find an aquarium to out in the room where we interview victims of crimes. Often times victims of domestic violence come in with their young children and the aquarium would help calm them and distract the kids while mom relates what happened. I put an aquarium in a domestic violence crisis center about 7 years ago and it is very appreciated.

A BC29g was donated and now I am setting it up. I want to go planted and wanted to get opinions on this. Either way I plan on apistos or Rams with tetras. I always like Java moss and crypts, so I will get those plants for shore.

I like the lights, what are your thoughts on lamps for this? Also filter mods?

That's really cool what your doing with this tank. I run a aquarium set up and maintenance business and I too donate tanks to abuse shelters, hospitals,schools anything for the kids heck helps the adults out as well. The tank in question is pretty much plug in and play, the filter is fine for what you are doing that comes with it. As far as the lighting goes any day light bulbs will do it prob came with actinic bulbs I'd do away with them and find bulbs with a good par value and a Kelvin rating 4000-8000k. If you go rams keep in mind you'll need a proper heater to keep the water in the low 80's for the rams and select tetras that tolerate warmer temps as well(cardinals,rummys,etc.) keep up the good work my friend!

Discusapisto, really are not too many options for the lamps. Looks like the only "sun" spectrum lamps are 10k, but I may not have looked very well (I work uniform, not a detective, LOL).