Black plants

The friendliest place on the web for anyone with an interest in aquariums or fish keeping!
If you have answers, please help by responding to the unanswered posts.

nanofish

Aquarium Advice Freak
I'm totally new to plants but since I'm starting up a new tank I decided to try and keep some. I'm setting up a biotope so just planned to try one species. A month ago or so I got a bunch of Amazon frogbit off of ebay for pretty cheap. They looked pretty beat to me (the plant newbie) when they came because a lot of leaves were off and all of the roots. I put them in and the next morning saw little roots. From that point on I started getting excited about plants. Something I never thought would happen. I couldn't wait to see how much they grew everyday when I turned the lights on. I was getting new leaves, baby plants, and roots that nearly touched the bottom of my 40 gallon breeder. I thought things were going smooth and it looked really good. Then after about three weeks of that I noticed leaves turning dark brown/black. patches at first that I removed but eventually it was all of my plants dying. I'd like to try again but does anyone know what I did wrong? I'd prefer not to have this happen again. I'm not sure what info you guys need. I didn't fertlize (have since bought Seachem Flourish), I have 2 39W T5 HO 6700 K bulbs sitting right above the tank, no CO2 but an open tank. Any advice for me? I'm open to anything.

I did try to google this but came up with too much nitrates. When I tested that I was only at 20 ppm. So confused.

Well you have the same setup has me. I don't know about you type substrate but for now, what i can tell there only one way to fix it.
Don't add flourish supplement only. You will have lots off algae if you don't balance it with iron, potassium, co2, nitrate, and they others i forgotten .
I think, what happen to me when they turned blacks, was to much iron.