Go Back   Aquarium Advice - Aquarium Forum Community > Freshwater > Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks
Click Here to Login

Join Aquarium Advice Today
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com
 
Old 09-21-2017, 03:43 PM   #1
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Vladka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Arizona
Posts: 36
Can you guys help me choose a CO2 system?

I bought one but it didn't have a timer so I'm returning it. But I'm all out of Excel and I can see my plants declining.
Can you guys recommended a good CO2 system with a timer for a 29 gal tank? Specifics would be amazing as well. I'd rather not spend too much but I'm willing to pay extra for quality. Thanks!Click image for larger version

Name:	Image1506023022.683392.jpg
Views:	51
Size:	259.1 KB
ID:	303919
__________________

__________________
Vladka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 09:55 PM   #2
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,648
Why is a timer a requirement? Pretty much any timer will do (will usually need a 3 prong receptacle).
On a budget? AquaTek Premium with CoolTouch solenoid, ~$80 on eBay.
Can splurge? GLA (Green Leaf Aquariums).
__________________

__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-21-2017, 10:10 PM   #3
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Vladka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Arizona
Posts: 36
Quote:
Originally Posted by Fresh2o View Post
Why is a timer a requirement? Pretty much any timer will do (will usually need a 3 prong receptacle).
On a budget? AquaTek Premium with CoolTouch solenoid, ~$80 on eBay.
Can splurge? GLA (Green Leaf Aquariums).


Well it doesn't have to come with one just be compatible. The one I got didn't have a plug or the extra stuff on it, and I'm not about turning it on and readjusting manually twice a day.
Okay thanks! I will check those out!
__________________
Vladka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2017, 07:47 PM   #4
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Vladka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Arizona
Posts: 36
Does anyone know where to buy a CO2 tank? I got the system but Iíve been to 3 stores and havenít found a tank yet!
Do you guys get the Sodastream ones or another kind?
The system takes a standard CO2 tank fit.
__________________
Vladka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2017, 08:15 PM   #5
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,648
Amazon or eBay. You can get a 24 oz paintball tank and adaptor. I'm using one for the last 3.5 years. I'm averaging about 3 months between refills. I take it to Dicks Sporting Goods store for refills (~ $5).
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2017, 08:24 PM   #6
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Vladka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Arizona
Posts: 36
So do most people use the paintball ones? Is there a reason for that, since you do need an adaptor.
__________________
Vladka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2017, 08:37 PM   #7
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,648
I think you will find more folks use 5-10 pound and larger tanks. Lower cost overall, less frequent refills, serving larger tanks.
I have a 20g planted tank and run it at around 2 bps. My choice is more for convenience. Sporting good stores (at least that one) are found in several nearby towns.
__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2017, 08:53 PM   #8
Aquarium Advice Apprentice
 
Vladka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Arizona
Posts: 36
What?! Are they actually all like $60-75???
__________________
Vladka is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2017, 09:13 PM   #9
Aquarium Advice Freak
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Posts: 224
You can also refill at a welding supply place called praxair, without a tank you will pay a deposit, with a tank it is an exchange
__________________
mbkemp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-02-2017, 09:53 PM   #10
Aquarium Advice Addict
Community Moderator
 
Fresh2o's Avatar



Tank of the Month Award
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Northern Virginia
Posts: 11,648
Quote:
Originally Posted by Vladka View Post
What?! Are they actually all like $60-75???

A 5 LB tank might cost that much. Really depends on where you can get it refilled. I'd switch to a 5-10 LB tank if refills were more convenient.
If the place you bring it for refills swaps out tanks, then I would not invest in a new shiny tank. If they refill the same tank you bring in, then I would.
__________________

__________________
I am an ALGAE farmer.
Terms of Service | Community Rules | FresH2O's Planted Tank | Fresh2o's Shrimp Tank
Fresh2o is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
co2, help me, stem, system

Please support our sponsors and let them know you heard about them on AquariumAdvice.com

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
can you run multiple tanks off the same pressurized co2 system smooth_cannibal Freshwater & Brackish - Planted Tanks 6 03-17-2014 08:10 PM
You choose the Pack & Reefs2go.com will give you a Hefty Discount + Free Shipping Reefs2go.com Vendor Spotlight (Deals, Announcements & More) 0 09-22-2012 05:25 PM
What do you guys think about this RO/DI system? solidsnakejv General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 13 07-30-2009 01:29 PM
You guys can help me choose my fish. ChosenOne Saltwater & Reef - Getting Started 9 12-15-2005 08:58 AM
RO system.. which one to choose? leesanhua General Hardware/Equipment Discussion 6 07-14-2005 07:38 PM







» Photo Contest Winners








Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.